Getting there

February 21, 2011 at 4:44 pm (Uncategorized)

So I’ve sanitized this place up one side and down the other. Today, I finally tackled the last big-ticket item: the downstairs main-room floor. Cement, painted like a checkerboard, and looked like it had been mopped with dirty water right in the middle. The rest looked like it hadn’t been mopped at all. It took me almost 2 hours, but it is clean now. My knees and shoulders are sore – it was a dang good workout. 🙂 I couldn’t have gotten it done all in one go if K hadn’t been here, so I’m grateful that he hadn’t been called in yet so he could take care of D. She’s fussy – maybe getting another tooth – and doesn’t want to take naps.

Anyway, that was a great way to spend my birthday morning. 35 years old today. That just sounds so much older than 34, officially “mid” 30’s. I’m a little freaked out by it. Oh, well. Can’t do anything about it.

So yeah, so far this birthday has sucked. I spent the morning cleaning up some other family’s dirt and pet feces (seriously I’m pretty sure some of those specks on the floor in the washroom down there were caked on poo), and then this afternoon just as I was considering moving on to something fun, my husband got called into work. Don’t get me wrong, he needs the hours. But it still kind sucked. So D finally went down for a nap, the kids are playing in “their” basement now that it is clean, and I am writing a birthday post. Such as it is.

The only things left to do are wiping out P’s closet shelving unit and washing the floor in the entryway. Then, unpacking has to become the priority instead of cleaning. I’ve unpacked some things in the process of cleaning (such as the kitchen), but mostly I’ve been cleaning.

Found out today that if we want to try and get the carpets more clean, we’ll have to pay for it. And I think it just has to be done. So that’s gonna cost a couple hundred and I want to do it soon before things are more settled. Maybe I can get someone out here on Friday, K’s next day off.

Tomorrow, P goes to her new school, and this little mini-vacation that we’ve taken off from everyday life will be over. I’m nervous for her; I’m sure I’ll be even more nervous tomorrow morning. I wish I could do it for her. Not school, but the meeting people, getting comfortable, making friends – all over again. I feel for my shy little girl. She’s so amazing – I hope her new peers can see that.

Tomorrow, our property manager is also coming out to tackle a couple of problems. Like the backyard covered in dog poop and kitty litter, the sink w/ the non-functioning garbage disposal.

Well, I guess since there’s no festivity going on around here, I might as well go unpack or clean something else. Later.

Leave a Reply

