Move, move, move

February 12, 2011 at 4:32 pm (General Life Updates)

Wednesday is moving day. Signed a lease Tuesday for a 4 bedroom house in Platteville, CO. Rural. I am nervous about rural living. The whole, know-everyone-everyone-knows-you thing is not something I’ve ever really experienced. But I think it will be great for the kids. The place has a nice yard, a basement where their bedrooms and play area will be, and a 2-car garage. There is 1 elementary school, and it seems pretty good. Not great, but I think P will do well there. And if we’re still there when K2 goes to kindergarten, they have all-day kindergarten. The school is a mile away – down “Main Street”. The public library is bound to be tiny, but its a half mile away. That’s gotta be cool right? They have story time for 3-6 year olds, something I’ve been “meaning” to do with K2 for almost a year. Platteville is about halfway between Brighton and Greeley. Greeley has a Walmart and a Sam’s Club. Brighton has a Walmart. Denver will be the closest Costco. So shopping will have to be more planned than I currently have a habit of, but that will be good for me I think.

So this coming week will be busy. I have to get the utilities up there put in our name within 2 days, so basically that has to be done Friday. I also have to turn the utilities here at our house turned off as we turn our backs on this place for the final time. This will put is 1.5 hours and 2 hours away from family, unless there is traffic which could put it up in the 3 hour range. No more bopping over to family’s for Sunday dinner. It’ll have to be a major occasion to get us down here.

I am at my heaviest non-pregnant weight ever. D is 6 months old, and I’m now gaining weight from the 230 I was hovering at for months. I’m at 240 or more (depending on when I weigh) right now. And depressed and overwhelmed by the idea of establishing any better habits right now amidst the chaos. I need to exercise, get more sleep, drink more water, and start eating vegetables again. And I just haven’t managed any of that yet. The drinking water thing, I am working on. I’m trying to make sure the kids get enough veggies, etc., but I’m not taking good care of myself at all. I am excited for 2 things – 1) to be settled in up in Platteville with access to my treadmill again (which has not come back from my MIL’s house since we moved back in November), and 2) to have enough grocery money to buy some of my favorite health foods again, like coconut oil and green smoothie supplies, along with a better blender.

And of course, I am excited to be settled into a place with no emminent move, foreclosure, or house-selling. I hope that will be more conducive to getting inspired about another weight-loss journey. Because right now I am as UNinspired as I’ve ever been.

Leave a Reply

