Quiet, Lazy Days mixed with Busy Days

July 29, 2010 at 2:32 pm (General Life Updates)

Wow, there’s not going to be a lot of details to the days. In fact, I might not remember what happened which day. But here are some highlights from the last week and a half.

First doctor’s appointment: Met my doc. He’s nice. Very tall. Not long out of his residency for obstetrics and gynecology, but that doesn’t bother me. There’s something to be said for having all your education fresh in your head. The office is very nice as well, as was the nurse. I had only gained 4 pounds since my last doc’s appt in CO more than a month before, so I was happy with that. I was only dilated to a 1, and not really effaced, which is what I expected unfortunately. I’ve actually had my second visit since then (yesterday the 28th) and they didn’t check me but I’m pretty sure nothing had changed. They did take my blood however, because when I asked about the itching that is keeping me up at night he said it might be a gall bladder condition that would make them want to get me delivered right away. I assume that it isn’t that. I also figure they’ll call me only if it is. No news is good news. He also told me I can take Tylenol PM to try and sleep deeper to escape the restless legs. Gotta get some. My next appt is next Thursday, when I’ll be 40 weeks and 1 day – completely full term and a little. Hope I go into labor before then!!!

The kids had fun at C’s house, and Saturday we went over there again for a Pioneer Day BBQ. We went without K because he had stayed out late (2 AM) fishing with his brother and friends on Friday and then had to get up and be to work by 7 AM on Saturday. So he came home and slept. We went to C’s where E’s family had gathered. Lots of nieces and nephews for P and K2 to play with. They had a blast. I had a good time as well, eating too much of all the good food and socializing with E and her family. After dark, the kids set off fireworks in the driveway under adult supervision (the adult, C’s husband, actually did all the work). K2 and P were so entertaining to watch in their fascination and excitement. Only dark spot on the evening was K2 burning himself by touching the hot end of his sparkler after it went out, right before he dumped it in the water bucket.

Sunday, we went to church. Met a couple more people. K2 refused to go to nursery. I’m hoping it was just from getting to bed at 11:30 at night and getting up at 8, and not because he doesn’t like the nursery here. He’s always been so excited about nursery, it would suck if he stopped liking it now.

Not much else happened on Sunday. A lot of lazing about. It was nice.

Monday and Tuesday were pretty lazy days for me. Only thing of interest really was my SIL, L, coming over Monday afternoon to go swimming. She brought her 2 girls and 1 nephew of hers that she watches for her sister. Unfortunately, although we had great conversation and the kids had fun, the pool was dirtier than its ever been and the sky was overcast almost the whole time we were in there. So we got out kind of grossed out and got out sooner than we might have if it had been sunny and clean.

Monday night I went to her salon where she works and got my toenails done in a pretty glitter acrylic that should still be looking pretty good when I have the baby. It was so nice of her to trade one of her massages to her friend to do my toes, and so nice to offer it to me when I would never have thought to ask. I stopped at Red Mango afterward to try their frozen yogurt, and it was SO GOOD. I got pomegranate yogurt with some fresh raspberries and graham cracker crust, and it was delicious. I skarfed it down in minutes, and then headed home.

Tuesday we did a whole lot of nothing. 🙂 I did a little cleaning around the apartment later in the afternoon and I made french toast and eggs for dinner. But other than that, it was a very uneventful day.

Yesterday was K’s day off, and my second doc appt that I mentioned. After my appt, I stopped by the library to return some books and check out the 2 books that had come in on hold for me (I have a lot of holds on request, another one came in today). When I got home, we all got ready, kind of slowly since K2 was balking at EVERY request made of him, and then we headed out. The afternoon consisted of stopping at the Comcast office to get our 2nd TV cable box, going to K’s friend’s work – a health and wellness center where they do T-zone exercise equipment, adjustments, weight loss programming and counseling, and other homeopathic stuff. I had the pleasure of trying the T-zone machine, though I couldn’t stand on it or do any of the exercises. I had to sit in a chair and put my feet on it, and WOW. My legs had worse itching after 10 minutes of vibration than they’ve EVER had after running. It was actually quite unpleasant by the end of the 10 minutes. We were there for K to get adjusted, and the doc offered to adjust me as well. He adjusted his bed so that I could lay on my pregnant stomach, and then used a machine on my lower back and his hands on my upper back. It was VERY weird, and the lower back stuff kind of hurt. Then he had me turn over and did my neck, and that was just strange with all the popping and cracking, but didn’t really hurt. I’d love to go regularly, and after the baby comes, if we can squeeze in the extra expense. I’m fascinated by this kind of stuff. And K could definitely use it, as his back is much more messed up than mine.

After we chatted with J and his wife C for quite a while (the kids were very impatient), we stopped by Walmart and Sam’s for K to find cable cords long enough for our needs with no luck. Then we drove to Target and he went in there to check for cords while I took the kids across the parking lot to Chick-fil-A for a very late lunch, almost dinner. They had fun playing in the fun house and ate almost all their food for once because they were so hungry. We stopped at Big 5 on the way home to buy a stomp rocket and a zhuzhu pet for P (I got suckered in my some tears). Then we finally headed home. After setting up our new cable box and cords, I didn’t want to stay still so I left to go to a book store and then stop and get some yogurt. Talked to my friend E when she called me while I was at the bookstore.

Today we haven’t done much. I’ve taken a shower, the kids have played and I made them clean their room. I need to do dishes. But I’ll probably read instead. Not sure what I’m going to make for dinner, but we’re hoping to go the park after dinner with K if its not raining.

Oh, and we’ve got an offer on the house. They’ve requested 3 small things from us fixed (a dead tree replaced, fix a shutter that a windstorm broke in half, and 1 more thing that I can’t remember) and it is HOPEFULLY a done deal. I hope and pray that the short sale negotiations will go smoothly and that they won’t back out if things take kind a long. This would solve my BIGGEST worry in the world right now. I worry about this more than anything else and if we could just be done with the house I’m sure everything else will fall into place.

Now to just get this baby out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

