Got the Call – 3-Hour Glucose Test here I come

May 10, 2010 at 7:16 pm (General Life Updates)

I got a call from the clinic this evening while at my friend’s house for dinner. My glucose levels were elevated and they need me to take the 3-hour glucose test for gestational diabetes. Kind of stressed out now.

I am going to try and take it Wednesday morning, and I am most likely going to have to make P miss school. There’s no way I can get over there and done after dropping her off before I have to pick her up again.

I’m feeling guilty because I don’t know enough to know if this is my fault (eating too much almost every evening after kids go to bed – mini-binges). And I’m worried. You’d think that the scare would make me want to stop eating at night, but I’m already wanting to eat stuff and the kids aren’t in bed yet. I’m not going to tonight. But that doesn’t take away the desire. Sometimes I really don’t like myself at all.

4 Comments

  1. Kelli said,

    I don’t think this is your fault! Hugs to you. I think it happens sometimes for unknown reasons. And also, I know a lot of people who failed the 1 hour but passed the 3 hours so don’t give up hope yet. Keep us posted.

  2. farebear said,

    Thanks Kelli! I failed the 1-hour and passed the 3-hour with my second son, so I’m hoping that is what happens tomorrow.

    Regardless, it has renewed my determination to do better with my night-time snacking/binging, whether that is the culprit or not. I had kind of given in/up, and I need to reassert control or its not going to be any easier to lose the weight after the baby comes than it was after my second son (I waited over a year before I even REALLY tried to lose more than what came off right away).

    Loving your new site with Michelle, by the way. Fabulous! And congratulations on your 31.4 pounds!!

  3. Kelli said,

    I am glad to hear that it at least renewed your determination! πŸ™‚ And thanks for the congrats. Baby S is going through some really tough medical issues. We are going to the hospital in an hour for testing. She can’t eat without intense pain and they can’t figure out why. 😦 I am struggling sooooo much with wanting to eat in order to numb myself. I can’t help her and it is tearing me apart.

    Your second son? I always thought you had just the one girl and one boy.

    So, will they tell you what this one is? Do you have any intuition?

  4. farebear said,

    I guess I should have said “my second child”. You’re right I do only have one son and one daughter. Didn’t really think about that when I was typing. Sorry for confusion.

    I’m so sorry about Baby S!! I hope they figure out exactly what is wrong and how to fix it. I can well imagine how agonizing that is for you – and I commend you for fighting off the urge to numb yourself with food. I’m not sure I’d be that strong. So keep it up!! Just remember (I’m sure you’ve thought of this) that numbing yourself with food will not help her at all, and it won’t actually help you either. I hope the testing is going well this afternoon.

    I have my ultrasound scheduled for the 20th and I surely hope they can tell the sex of the baby! I’m really not good at having “intuition” about these things, so your guess would be as good as mine! πŸ™‚

    My prayers are with you and Baby S!

Leave a Reply

