Another Friday – Still here

April 30, 2010 at 2:41 pm (General Life Updates)

Wednesday, after P got out of school, a friend (not really close, but only because of not much time spent together) came and met us at the house for a walk. We walked for 30 minutes at a pretty good pace, me pushing K2 and P riding her bike. And W (friend) walking just slightly behind me which kept making me think I was going too fast. But she said I wasn’t so it just must be where she likes to walk. It was a very windy day, but also very warm so it was a nice walk. I did most of the talking. 🙂

After we chatted for a few minutes when we got back to the house, she left, and the kids begged me enough to go to the park right away that after a quick snack, that’s what we did. Walked to the park. We had been there maybe 5 minutes when P realized she had to go potty badly and we had to leave right away. So we came home and had lunch and a potty break. K2 “went down” for a nap that he never actually took. So we ended up at the park again around 4:00. Two park trips in one day! We all got a little sun, and the kids got nice and dirty and tired. Then they played across the street while I made dinner, so more sun and more dirt and more tired.

Thursday was a quiet day. I didn’t take the kids to the park even once. I was tired. It was colder. We stayed in. Too much TV, but not all day long. Had cold cereal for breakfast due to my lack of planning ahead. In the morning, K2 and I went to P’s school for her end-of-year knowledge presentation and party. They recited the states and capitals, sang some songs, and recited answers about their heroes. Then the kids (including K2, who was very excited to be sitting with his sister) had refreshments. I loitered and hovered until they were finally done. K2 at one point shoved past the teacher standing behind the little table cutting the cake, and tripped himself and put his hand in frosting of said cake. Nice. It was stressful wrangling him and making my way around the tiny classroom with my belly sticking out and all the little kids and all the other parents. I was glad when it was over.

Today was her assembly presentation of the Gettysburg Address in conjunction with the 5th graders. So K2 and I stayed after walking her into school and I had to wrangle him again during the short assembly. It was cool to see her up there looking normal and not like she was about to pass out from shyness.

After we got home from her assembly, I changed clothes and K2 and I went on a 30 minute walk. Then we went and picked P up from school and then went straight to the park where I let them play for about 40 minutes until I decided it was getting too cold to stay. We came home for lunch and they played while I swept and mopped the entire first floor of the house. It was a lot of work, and it is now very clear to me why I’ve put it off for 2 weeks.

After the kids were satisfied with a short game of London Bridges upstairs, I put K2 down for a nap and now P is watching Mr Magorium’s Wonder Emporium on the DVR. I am trying to psych myself up for going grocery shopping when K2 gets up, but it is Friday night and I just don’t know if I want the groceries bad enough. If I don’t do it tonight it will have to wait until Monday because there are things going on tomorrow and we don’t shop on Sundays…..

Oh wait, I just realized how I can do the grocery shopping tomorrow!!! The plan is for my mom to watch the kids while I go get my hair cut tomorrow (pretty excited). After my haircut, I was going to spend some time by myself for a few hours before going to the adult session of stake conference at 7 PM by myself, so mom would just keep the kids all afternoon. I could go grocery shopping by myself!! Without the kids!! That’s how I could spend my time! Of course it might be more fun to go to a movie by myself. Hmmmmm….

Well, I don’t know yet what I’ll do. But today is a good day and I think tomorrow will be too. Also booked a flight for K to fly out here on the 13th and stay until the 17th, so I’m pretty excited about that, too.

Leave a Reply

