Tired, but I gotta write some of this down

March 24, 2010 at 5:11 am (General Life Updates)

So I have been in Japan since Sunday, and it is now Wednesday night. I really need to write some stuff down so that I can remember it, but I’m really not in the mood to write a post tonight with a lot of detail. So for now, I’m going to make a list of stuff and then I’ll try to come back later and flesh out more details.

Friday – picking up P from school early because my mom and I were so worried about the winter storm that was coming in, getting to Monument and then getting to the airport. Then we met them at Borders at Chapel Hills mall where my mom used her credit and her educators discount to get me 4 books for 3.30. Awesome. Then we went to Motherhood in the mall where I was pretty excited to have their X-L pants fit me for two pairs of pants. Then we headed to Monument, me by way of Walmart to get some more snacks for my trip and my Gas-X. πŸ™‚ And a magazine. It was bliss not to have to take the kids to the store, since I sent them in Mom and Dad’s car straight to the house.

We hung out at Mom’s house, me checking my flight every little while to see if it had changed due to all the snow falling, the kids played and then K2 took a nap. We had lunch, then we had dinner. Dad and I left at 5:30 for the airport, and I was tense the whole way there, through the delays for car wrecks near Larkspur and on. Got to the airport a little after 7, where checking my bag luckily didn’t take long. Waiting for my flight was nerve-wracking, but we got boarded on time. Then we sat and left almost an hour late, so I was tense and nervous the whole flight to LA. I read my book to distract myself.

LA – hurried to my terminal by way of shuttle and fast walking and got there about 15 minutes before boarding started, so it worked out great. Got my aisle seat, refused to switch with some woman’s husband (which she was good-natured about) because of being pregnant and needing to use the restroom a lot. Which I figured would force me to actually do the getting-up-every-2-hours thing like I was supposed to, despite my nerves of people looking at me.

The flight was 12.5 hours long. Oh. my. gosh. Did my butt hurt when we landed in Seoul. Flight was fine, used the bathroom a lot, ate my apple, tried to stay hydrated and pee a lot. Tried to move so that my butt wouldn’t hurt too bad. Slept a little, finished my book. Wished I could sleep more. It was long. Watched Surrogates toward the end – it was pretty good. GotΒ  a headache, but it luckily didn’t last the rest of the flight.

In Seoul, the airport wasn’t awake yet since it was like 5 in the morning. I slept on a bench at my gate for an hour, got up to pee, slept another hour. Killed another hour and a half reading my magazine and book.

Last flight was about 2 hours long – not too bad. Had an aisle seat, but there was no one in the window seat so I could spread out a little more and try to baby my sore butt. Still hurt though.

D (my brother that lives here) picked me up at the airport after I got my baggage and went through customs. My suitcase took forever, so I was getting nervous. But then we took off after hugs (T, my other brother visiting,Β and his girlfriend were there, too, having arrived from Tokyo before me). So here starts the list of activities that I will need to come in and fill in some details for:

Chinese park – pretty pond and lots of fish, some Chinese history from D. He got called in to work and we had to take off. Home to his house, where I was able to shower and change and see his house, which is great.

Some site seeing that night when he got home – a couple of temples, active ones. Very pretty. One with a cave underneath it that is part of the temple. Back to the house, where I fell asleep reading at 7:45 until 7:00 the next morning. Great sleep.

Monday – went to traditional Japanese village where they put on a show of old Japanese culture with a Shisha dog. Village called Ryukyu Mura. Before that, farmer’s market where I saw some cool vegetables that I can’t normally get. Made me want to go to the Asian market in Colo Spgs. Went to the base for grocery shopping. Then the T, D, girlfriend went to a zipline park where they got to zip across the jungle and A (SIL) and I came back to house with kids so their youngest could nap. I hung out and read a book for a few hours. It was nice and peaceful. Ate Brazilian feijoada, chicken wings, rice, fruit salad.

Tuesday – went to beach for snorkeling and beach-time. Panic attacks when I tried to snorkel – managed to breathe just fine, but the flippers made me feel like I didn’t know what I was doing to swim and that if I wanted to stop, i couldn’t. I only snorkeled for maybe 2 minutes after the panic attacks – too much panic still. Didn’t see more than one or two fish due to not moving because of panic. Still enjoyed floating around on air mattress in water and looking for shells to take back for the kids. Changed into and out of swimsuit behind a rock. Didn’t get sunburnt to speak of.

Tuesday night was pedicure night. My toes are so pretty – Japanese flowers on a pink and black background. The massage and foot-soak was great, especially considering we didn’t have time to even change out of our clothes that we wore to the beach. Then we came back and hung out at the house for the rest of the evening.

Today, we went to the beach again. A different beach. More sandy. A and I and the kids went to the beach, while the other three started in the marina around the cove and snorkeled to us. It took them about an hour and a half. Then, D decided that it was shallow enough and tide was high enough in the tide pools there that I could just walk around with the snorkel mask and see some fish without having to panic. So we did that and by the time we were done, I was feeling comfortable enough to float even over some of the deeper tide pools to see the fish. It was great. I think with more practice that I could be pretty comfortable snorkeling in most shallow areas – but really deep I’d have to overcome more panic.

Then we went to a FamilyMart after putting our clothes over out suits and got a bunch of typical Japanese convenience food and ate it at a park before looking at some castle ruins. We drove through a pottery villlage, then came home for showers while D went to get some ahi while we showered and chilled at the house for a couple hours and A got dinner ready. After my shower I relaxed on the bed and ended up taking a short nap.

We had ahi, bokchoy and purple sweet potatoes for dinner tonight. It was great. Now we’re just chilling – everyone has showered and we are watching a movie.

Ok – brief. That’s about it for now. Got lots of plans for the rest of the week. I might not post the rest until I get back.

4 Comments

  1. Kelli said,

    Yay! Sounds like so much fun! So glad you are enjoying yourself! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Kelli said,

    I wanted to let you know I started a blog..if you want to read along. πŸ™‚

    http://millionlittlechoices.blogspot.com/

  3. farebear said,

    Hey Kelli – I’ve added your blog to my Google Reader and I’m excited to read it! I haven’t had time to yet, because I don’t want to just skim. I had to skim my other Google Reader updates from while I was gone – because there were like 168 of them. πŸ™‚ What can I say, I follow a lot of blogs, or try to.

    Anyway, I haven’t had time to write a post yet about the rest of my vacay, but I am back and trying to get over the jet lag. Just wanted to say thanks for the comment and yay for your blog!!

    • Kelli said,

      Welcome back! Good luck catching up…I can’t imagine! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

