Yummy yummy lunch – too hungry to take a picture!

March 16, 2010 at 12:37 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats)

I don’t know how food bloggers do it! I was so anxious to eat my lunch today that even though I had PLANNED to take a picture and post it with this description, I totally forgot when it came out of the oven and smelled and looked so delicious! And before I thought about pictures again, it was gone. So, no picture. Sorry!

Today I had one of my best tortilla pizzas in a long time. I started making tortilla pizzas when I started the Joy Bauer LIFE diet in March of ’09. I substituted low or no fat cream cheese for the sauce since I don’t like tomatoes, and I would measure out everything else except the veggies (cheese, meat). Anyway, I use the low-carb whole wheat tortillas for the crust and since I’ve been off “dieting” since getting pregnant, I use full fat cream cheese and cheese. But I don’t use a lot of either.

Today’s:

  • Tortilla
  • Thin layer of cream cheese, probably a generous tablespoon
  • Cauliflower & broccoli, steamed in microwave with a little garlic salt
  • garbanzo beans, probably about 1/4 cup
  • about 5 chunks of pineapple, cut into quarters
  • Tillamook extra sharp cheddar cheese, about an ounce

So I just spread the toppings out over the cream cheese, veggies, then evenly spread the garbanzo beans, then the pineapple, then a thin layer of Tillamook cheese.

Pop it in the oven on my cooking stone for about 15 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and it looks warmed through, enough so that the tortilla won’t be soggy in the middle from the veggies and pineapple.

Oh, my gosh!! This was so good!! My best one in a long time – I loved the pineapple and chickpeas combo, and the garlic salt on the veggies gave it a great flavor along with some pepper when it was on my plate. I used to always use leftover meat, but I’m loving using beans and having it be more vegetarian. I used the pineapple because it was in the fridge leftover from hawaiian haystacks a few days ago for dinner.

Delicious lunch!

I’ll probably return to low-fat cream cheese and low-fat cheese on this after I’ve had the baby and am trying to lose weight again (not too drastically while nursing).

1 Comment

  1. Michelle Hastie said,

    Sounds delicious and it is making me hungry! If you ever want to read more information on weight loss visit my blog or website http://www.michellehastie.com.

Leave a Reply

