Uneventful Monday

March 16, 2010 at 11:06 am (General Life Updates)

My kids were in their pajamas all day yesterday. Yup, it was that kind of day. After K left, I just kind of deflated and I didn’t do much of anything. P and I played with each other’s hair. The kids and I played a little while K2 was awake. We had fun last night dancing to some music while I put laundry away. I did the dishes and fed them dinner. But other than that, I mostly just sat all day. I ate too much, didn’t work out, and just felt generally blah and overwhelmed all day.

After posting on the T-Tapp forums about my woes (oh, woe is me!), I realized I was being a wuss. I didn’t jump into action or anything, but I looked through my list for the week of things I have to get done before going to Japan, and I made a schedule, splitting up the list for the 3 days I have left. Already one item down for today (small grocery trip). This afternoon I’m going to put the last coat on the baseboards since that is the item I’m dreading the most – get it out of the way. Then there are 2 or 3 things for Wednesday and Thursday, and Friday can be spent getting myself and the kids ready to go.

It felt good to come up with a plan of action. I’m also determined to work out this afternoon. Night just isn’t working (again). I threw away the rest of the Smarties left over from Sunday’s treats for my lesson (I know that I bought too many on purpose, but the rest of the damage is in the garbage). The ice cream is gone, there are cookies. I’m still working on throwing those away – today I feel I can resist them so I keep thinking I’ll keep them for the kids. But they don’t really need them! So….. I’ll go throw them away now……  ok I’m back. Cookies in the garbage.

K2 and I went to the store this morning while P is at school and got some stuff for the next few days. Got some bananas and apples, some snacks for my trip (Larabars and Think Thin & Luna protein bars), some cauliflower and broccoli for the 3 dinners we have. And lunches. Some granola bars and fruit snacks for the kids, mostly to stow in the car for when we’re out and about and need a snack. Got some more oatmeal, and decided to get some of the old-fashioned oats to try since K’s not around and the rest of us like the chewier texture. Also got enough yogurts for the kids and I to have one a day until we leave.

So there is officially nothing to binge on now (though you know if you’re determined there’s always something). K2 and I will get P shortly, and then it will be lunch, workout, baseboards, K2 will be napping, homework, dinner, hang out time, bedtime (for me and the kids – I want to be in bed by 10:30 at the latest).

Anyway, feeling better today now that the sadness of K leaving is less fresh and I’m feeling sick of all the sugar I’ve been consuming the last few days.

Gotta go get P….

Leave a Reply

