Peanut Sauce

March 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats)

Every time I’ve had peanut sauce on a meal, I’ve loved it. The first time was when I was in high school on a trip the the Model MUN in the Hague. We went to a Thai restaurant and I tried peanut sauce. So good! I don’t have a lot of clear memories of the rest of the meal. My love of peanut butter has only grown and developed over the years, but I’ve never tried to make it myself. I just figured it must be hard! I even like the peanut sauce on the Lean Cuisine meal that has it.

Anyway, tonight I was making brown rice, chicken, and vegetables for dinner, and I thought it would be nice to have a sauce. Hey, peanut sauce! So I looked up some recipes until I found one I thought I could tackle and that I had almost all the ingredients for; I was lacking the soy sauce. So I went and borrowed some from a neighbor (only needed 1/8th of a cup), and set to work.

I got the recipe from allrecipes.com, except I substituted brown sugar for the molasses and cajun seasoning for the cayenne pepper (what I had). I also halved it, knowing it was just the kids and I that would be eating dinner and one of the commenters had remarked about how much it made.

I don’t think this is diet friendly at all, but you don’t need much to give a great flavor. It would be great over noodles, too, I’m sure!

Here’s the link to the recipe I used, because I’m too lazy to retype it. πŸ™‚ Peanut Sauce I

Kid review: P refused to have it on her meal, but when I pleaded with her to have a bite of mine with the chicken and rice, she said it was good. But then she still didn’t want any on her plate. K2 seemed to like it just fine! Scarfed down 1.5 servings. And I just thought it was great!

4 Comments

  1. Lori said,

    Just a quick thought…. We are recently, really, into peanut sauce. Yeah, probably not too diet friendly, but, YUM!!! Never made one until recently and didn’t realize it was all pretty much pantry foods…..

    Umm, as for the chilluns, thinking it shouldn’t have been an option, or even talked about, just put it on, not mention it and serve it. Oh, maybe I am/was a bad mom, but hey, my kids all grew up liking everything, ev-er-y-thing! Okay, don’t take my advice, just one opinion, think about it, but still……

    You are doing great, really great, just a thought, no options make for no arguments and generally they don’t even think of it on their own, LOL!!

    (And you are making me hungry, (again!)….
    Later!
    Lori

  2. farebear said,

    Hey Lori!! I always appreciate your advice – and I totally agree with you. I regretted asking her to taste it as soon as I did it. I don’t think making our kids eat what they’re served makes anyone a bad mom – kids are too pampered these days. I fell victim to it tonight. It won’t happen again. I think she would have been fine, and even if she wasn’t I would have made her eat it. That’s what I usually do.

    So yeah, from now on, no options = no arguments! Thanks for the tip!!

    Hope all is well with you!

  3. Lori said,

    I have been there done that. When the spouse is gone, it is so easy to feel like you need someone to converse with, have take your side, be bestest friends with and too often our children are the only ones there to fulfill that spot. I know exactly where you are coming from. Heck, I still do it with my grown kids. Can’t keep a secret from them. Need approval….. Need advice outside of DH…. And I totally wasn’t judging you, but hey, BTDT. My grandkids are older than your kids. That is so weird….. You are so far ahead of where I was at your age!
    And hey, why would *anyone* in their right mind not *love* peanut sauce????????

  4. farebear said,

    I didn’t think you were judging me at all, so no worries! My mom sometimes says that all of her kids are ahead of where she was as far as parenting is concerned. I don’t feel that way with all the messing up that I do!! But if it is true, it is definitely a tribute to her parenting skills. Because she is still parenting me, I can parent my children better. πŸ™‚ Make sense?

    I definitely need to watch how I treat P now that K is gone – making sure I don’t try to become her bestie or anything just because I have no one else to talk to. That’s where calls to my mom come in handy! πŸ™‚ And blogging here and getting advice from you! πŸ™‚

    Hey, out of curiosity, what is your recipe for peanut sauce??

Leave a Reply

