Tried Something Kind of New for Breakfast

March 12, 2010 at 9:44 am (General Life Updates)

I tried something this morning that I’ve been wanting to try for a while. Quinoa in place of my oatmeal.

Let me know that I have gotten kind of out of control with my toppings on my oatmeal, and I’m probably negating a lot of the health affects. I’ve been adding way too many morsels. This morning for example had white morsels, milk chocolate, and peanut butter morsels. Eeek. Add that to the peanut butter I dollop on top and the sugar I put in it, and it is basically warm dessert in a bowl.

Hereby making a goal to cut back. One tablespoon of chips per morning. Period. Starting tomorrow morning. Because that much sugar in the morning can’t be helping my cravings later in the day or night.

Back to this morning’s breakfast. I warmed up about a cup of the quinoa that I cooked last night for dinner in water with only a little butter. Usually I cook quinoa in chicken broth to give it more flavor, but I knew I wanted to try the leftovers for breakfast. After warming up the bowl of quinoa in the microwave, I added all my typical toppings (including the out of control morsels): little milk, cup of thawed berries (mostly blueberries), about 1.5 T of sugar, about 1.5 T of peanut butter, and morsels. Lots of morsels.

It was really good! Not as mushy as oatmeal, since the pieces are sort of separate and nutty, but it was really yummy. Of course, when you put that much sweetness in something it has to be good right? So I’ll try it again tomorrow, only I will measure the sugar and a T of morsels. I’ll also need to monitor how long it keeps me full today.

Speaking of peanut butter, I’m a little worried about my Naturally More peanut butter. I’ve been getting it at Walmart for like 2.82 a jar, but 2 days ago when we were at the store it wasn’t there. And I didn’t see an empty spot where it should have been if it sold out or something. So I’m worried they’re not going to carry it anymore! Argh! I guess I could try the Earth Balance that they’ve been carrying for a while, but it doesn’t have many fewer calories than regular, and a little more fat. The thing that’s so great about the Naturally More is that it has more than 30 fewer calories than regular peanut butter, more fiber, and more protein. So we shall see if it is there next time or at a different Walmart. I’m almost out and I have some Smuckers Natural on-hand to use so I can last a while.

K2 let me sleep in until my alarm went off today! He literally turned his doorknob seconds after my phone beeped at 7 AM. Was a nice break, getting that extra 20-30 minutes before having to get going.

Ate too much again last night. Ugh. At least I worked out yesterday. Plan on doing so today. Gotta decide if I want to leave my workout until night-time to curb the kitchen grazing but risk talking myself out of it because I’m “tired”.

5 Comments

  1. Kelli said,

    Can you give me some ideas for how to use quinoa for dinner? I have two boxes of it but the one time I made it we really didn’t enjoy it.

    1. How do you cook it??? (you said something about chicken broth)
    2. How do you serve it??

    Thanks!

  2. Kelli said,

    forgot to click on the notify button…adding one more comment. 🙂

  3. farebear said,

    Hey Kelli!

    I use quinoa kind of interchangeably in meals when I might use rice. When I’m making it for dinner, I usually use chicken broth instead of water because it makes it more flavorful. Sometimes, I also toast the quinoa first, kind of like you do with ricearoni?
    So, if you’re going to toast:
    Melt some butter or coconut oil in the pan you’re going to use to cook it. Maybe a tablespoon? I rarely measure – could probably use more but I’m usually trying to make it pretty healthy. Add 1 cup quinoa and stir it around until it starting to turn just slightly darker (I don’t toast for as long as I probably could because I’m always paranoid about burning it).
    Add 2 cups of chicken broth
    I also add a little parsley, onion powder, garlic powder

    Cook at a simmer until it gets those holes that rice gets and you can see that the water is basically gone. I think its supposed to take about 20 minutes, but I’m usually making something else to go with it, so I just watch it. At our high altitudes, things don’t take the prescribed time to cook anyway.

    If we liked real onions around here, you could probably chop some up and have them sauteed in the toasting butter before you add the quinoa. That might be good.

    Then, I make chicken or beef (last night it was a meaty spaghetti sauce) to go with or on. I like quinoa plain with a little butter and salt when its cooked like this, and so do the kids, but its also really good with gravies and sauces on it. Almost any kind!!

    Today, I’m going to cook some lentils (same kinds of ingredients, chicken broth and seasoning powders), and that is good with quinoa cooked like this, too. Or any kind of legume would be good! There are so many possibilities!

    I feel like I’ve blabbed on forever and maybe not answered your question?? Do you have more questions, because I’m just not sure I helped at all. I hope you can try it and like it because it is so good for you! Especially if you don’t pile chocolate morsels on top. 🙂 My two kids love it, maybe more than rice. My husband likes it ok, but he’s not here right now. 🙂 I’m also not used to people asking me questions about cooking – I’m so not an expert! But I’m learning to enjoy it as I’ve experimented so much in the last year and a half.

    So, feel free to tell me that I talk too much and didn’t answer your questions! Have a great day!! Thanks for commenting!

  4. Kelli said,

    This is exactly what i was looking for! I think the toasting it is a good idea. When I made it I just boiled it in water with no flavorings and it just didn’t taste like much at all. Plus I served it plain as a side dish.

    I think I’ll try toasting it, adding the spices like you suggested, and using chicken broth and see what we think.

    Don’t worry about being too wordy for me. I really enjoy your blog. Just had my first baby in December so love reading about the kiddos AND your pregnancy. 🙂 Plus, I am really starting to get into cooking “real” foods more instead of relying on the pre-packaged stuff so I take ideas from your blog.

    I bought some of that “pb2”. It’s like powdered peanut butter. Way expensive but everyone at weight watchers talks about it so I got a jar. I couldn’t figure out what to do with it but after reading your post I’m thinking of trying it in some oatmeal…mmmmmm

    Can you write a post that tells us where you are going in Japan/who with/ and how long you’ll be there. I’m just super curious (i.e. nosy!) and like living vicariously through you. 🙂

  5. farebear said,

    I read a lot of foodie blogs, and I’ve read about the pb2. I’ve never tried it though. I’ve heard good things, and I bet you’ll love it on some oats! What section of the store did you find it in? Is it with the other peanut butters? I wouldn’t mind trying it.

    I was thinking more about the quinoa, and I think it would be great too as a vegetarian meal with a whole bunch of different vegetables in it! Maybe pre-steamed or stir-fried veggies mixed in. Ooooh, sweet and sour quinoa with veggies! And/or chicken! I think I’ll try that next time!

    I’m enjoying learning about cooking “real” foods, and I hope you are enjoying it too! We definitely still eat some pre-packaged stuff, like mac & cheese or the occasional packaged rice or noodles. And I think we eat a little too much meat, so I’ve been using this time with my husband gone to try and cut that back a little and see if I can make some yummy, filling stuff without meat. And I know that I eat way too much sugar, hence the weight-gain!

    Anyway, I’m glad to “meet” you! Where are you from? Happy cooking! Let me know how the quinoa experiment goes, I’m excited to hear if you and your family enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

