Can’t take it back

March 9, 2010 at 10:20 am (General Life Updates)

Once you offer your help to someone, you can’t take it back. I offered yesterday to watch that woman’s 3-year old while they took their baby to the hospital for the MRI. And I meant it. But I expected that they would call me to tell me if they were going to take me up on it before they were on their way and hour and a half earlier than I expected them. She called about 5 minutes ago to say she was on her way. Their appointment is at 10:30, and it is barely after 9. So it looks like I’ll have the little girl almost all day. Which is fine, but I wish I’d known before now. Like, couldn’t they have called me last night to say, yes, we’d love it if you could watch her, we’ll be by around 9:20? Or even earlier this morning? I think I’m being a snot, but I’m just a little thrown by the short notice. I guess I had figured that since I hadn’t heard from them, that they weren’t both going to be going to the appointment and one of them could watch the other daughter. Oh, well. She’s a nice little girl, hopefully she won’t be too freaked out by being at a strange house. She played with K2 yesterday and she’s seen P at church. I’ll have to take her with me to get P from school, and hopefully having an extra kid here won’t interfere with my MIL and I painting this afternoon. They might just all watch TV all day. I guess one day of TV isn’t going to kill them. Hopefully they’ll all have fun together.

Let’s see – if their appointment is at 10:30 and the hospital is running late, as usual, and they don’t get seen until 11 (optimistic), then the appointment takes about an hour and a half, that’s 12:30. Then getting back here – optimistic that they would be back here by 1:00 PM. Probably an hour or so later than that? Not sure how long it takes to do an MRI and if they’ll sit and wait for results right away or not. It could be all day for real. Let’s see – better start thinking about lunch for the munchkins……

Can’t take it back.

2 Comments

  1. Kelli said,

    LOL…I’ve definitely had this thought before! “What was I thinking?” 🙂

    And yes, they should have given you a little better notice for sure.

    Good luck…hopefully tv does the trick!

  2. farebear said,

    Thanks for validating my frustration, Kelli!

    Its turning out alright – she’s a sweet little girl and the kids are all having fun together, especially now that P is home from school and bossing everyone around. 🙂 I think she’ll probably be here all day, so I’m bracing myself for that.

    I keep reminding myself that I meant it, I meant it, I meant it. 🙂

    TV hasn’t turned off yet – but they haven’t been watching it. We’ll see. Maybe I’ll turn it off and turn it back on later if I get desperate.

Leave a Reply

