Renovations started today

February 8, 2010 at 7:12 pm (General Life Updates)

Today, we painted the back wall of the living room and half the south wall, including edges. It looke pretty great, and it is a relief to see some visual progress. Last week we didn’t get much of anything done except the initial clean-up of the garage to get rid of the swing set.

Today, while doing a little bit of work from home, I made a list of all the things to be done. Some are small things, some are bigger. I tried to break the big things (like painting the whole interior of the house) into smaller chunks that we can pick and then have something to cross off at the end of the day. Upstairs, I broke it into rooms. Down here, I broke it into main walls. I listed every little thing I could think of, and I’m hoping that it will be enough to pick 3 or 4 things per day to get done in order to get it all done in the next 2.5 weeks. Tonight when K gets home, we’re going to pick what the plan is for tomorrow. Tonight, I’m going to go upstairs and pack up some of the stuff I feel should be packed for the house to look bigger. I won’t be able to pick up the boxes once they’re full (unless its all light stuff, but it will be mostly books), but I can shove them to a room to stack until we (meaning, K) can move them to the garage.

P didn’t have school today due to snow and a 2-hour delay that we didn’t see in the TV notifications. So K took her to an empty school, and then came back home. Bummer. Then we both slept in – my until after 10, him until almost 12. Not a great way to get a lot done – sleeping for half the day. He’s struggling to adjust to going to sleep earlier now that he’s home by 9, and its slow going. He hasn’t gone to sleep before midnight once yet.

I’m hoping for a snow day tomorrow – in theory to get more done without having to leave the house to take her and go get her. We shall see. Now that I’m not working at the office (EVER AGAIN – YIPPEE), I’m going to go back to my google cleaning calendar that emails me cleaning tasks for each day. Just a few a day to keep the house always clean. This will be even more important once the house is on the market to make for an easy tidy-up and leave for showings.

I haven’t been eating healthy at all this weekend, or today. But I’m going to work out tonight – 30 minutes. It might not be too hard core because I’m still suffering from this cold. But I’m getting better, so placekeeper workouts it is. It doesn’t help that we really need groceries, but aren’t going to have money for them until this weekend. There’s also the fact that we’re supposed to register the H3, and our first H3 payment is coming up on the 19th. We’re broke, big-time. I can’t wait to get out of here, out of the mortgage, and to a minimalist place of fewer bills and a simpler life. In theory. 🙂

Friday was my going away lunch at work, and my last afternoon in the office. Awkward, because I wasn’t sad at ALL. Saturday, I went with 3 ladies from work to Denver to Rialto Cafe for lunch and Legally Blonde the play at the Buell Theater. Lunch was excellent (I had crab avocado benedict) and the play was great. So clever how they took the plot and made it all into song and dance – and in such a fun way!! We really enjoyed it, even with me trying not to cough through the whole thing.

Sunday at church yesterday was fine for me other than the kids having the worst wiggles I’d ever seen and my cold taking away my voice. Then I find out last night that someone else was suffering from major drama and taking offense at things that hadn’t even registered on my radar. I just don’t know about people anymore. We had dinner at my parents’ last night, and that was nice as always. I snoozed on the way home, which I haven’t done in a long time. But it was good I think since if I’d been awake the worsening roads would have made me a nervous (more so than usual) passenger.

K is off to work right now. The kids are playing contentedly with the promise that they can watch TV in 30 minutes (they haven’t watched much today!). I’m going to go upstairs and pack some stuff; I’m sure the kids will follow me and play in their toys and maybe we’ll make it past the 30 minutes without them even noticing!

Leave a Reply

