So What’s the Program

January 14, 2010 at 7:46 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

Basically, the program or dietary method that my friend K has switched to and wanted to educate me about is veganism. I’m not anti, but I’m not sure I can or want to go there. I’m not even vegetarian right now, and I believe that animals were put on this earth for us to eat sparingly. I think (have thought for a while) that I (and my family) eat too much meat. But I hadn’t really entertained any ideas other than cutting us down to meat 2-4 times a week at night-time meals rather than all 7.

I have the DVD that we didn’t get through at her house because we kept pausing it to talk. I will watch it, and from what I’ve seen so far I’ll probably agree with what it presents. She wanted me to watch it with my husband; that’s still uncertain.

I am not by any means saying I’m going to go vegan, or even vegetarian. But I’m entertaining the idea, I’m getting more educated. I’m keeping an open mind. I fully agree that my children need to ingest better nutrition. Less sugar FOR SURE, more fruits and vegetables, less meat. So even if my education leads to my children eating better and me making a few more tweaks to my WOE (way of eating), that will be a good thing. I’ve already made so many changes to the way I eat over the last year – and I’m open to new ideas and WOE’s. But I haven’t made nearly as many changes to my children’s diet, and in fact with my distraction their diet probably has deteriorated due to convenience foods in convenient packaging, though they do eat better at dinner time than they used to.

Anyway, there you have it.

Leave a Reply

