Hiding Upstairs – literally

January 8, 2010 at 10:33 am (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates, Plan)

So I knew that for the last few nights that I’ve kept my eating under control after the kids go to bed, I’ve been telling K that I was “hiding” upstairs from the kitchen.

Last night I decided to watch a movie after the kids went to bed, and we don’t have a DVD player upstairs, so I stayed downstairs. And sure enough, I ate. I had my normal snack before the kids went to bed. And after…… 2 bowls of generic Apple Jacks, 2 fun size Snickers, and 2 small handfuls of candied almonds.

Tonight, I want to start a mini-series on DVD that my friend let me borrow to watch called Tinman, a modern take on Wizard of Oz. But I’d have to watch it downstairs.

I need to figure out how to ‘close the kitchen’ to myself and then stick to it. Last night, I was hungry, but I could have left my snack at something healthy and then stopped. I don’t want to have to “hide” upstairs in order to keep from pigging out at night when I work out in the morning.

Tonight, I’m going to send a text message to my mom, maybe my friend R, that the kitchen is ‘closed’ and ask them to keep me accountable by asking me if I ate. If I answer yes, it needs to be that I ate some carrots, or some steamed cauliflower, or a kiwi (not just those, but you get the idea). Text to K, too, but he is altogether too understanding of my eating issues, and a little afraid of me and trying to make me accountable. For good reason since I’ve snapped at him many-a-time for trying to help me curb my eating.

Ok, I have to go ask K if he’s willing to wake up in 30 minutes to go get P from school. If not, I don’t have time to work out before the office today. Since P’s school gets out an hour early on Fridays, this is something I’m going to have to address every Friday. This will be my fourth day of T-Tapp Tempo in a row. I’m sore in some cool places, and I want to keep up this momentum. Planning T-Tapp today, and treadmill tomorrow. Then back to T-Tapp on Monday.

2 Comments

  1. Lori said,

    Come out, come out, wherever you are!!!!!
    I *know* you’re doing great, I just feel it!

  2. farebear said,

    Hey Lori! Doing ok, some days better than others. Still do better when I hide upstairs, away from the kitchen after the kids go to bed. 🙂 T-Tapp’d 4 times last week, plus one run! That’s a record for me since like 4 years ago! Just trying to eat well (too much over the weekend), and take care of myself and the family.

    I got the cookbook and it was such a great present!! Thank you again! Looking forward to continuing to try things out of it.

    How are you?

Leave a Reply

