I don’t wait until Monday anymore

December 17, 2009 at 8:02 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates, Success Story)

So many of the blogs I read are doing posts about all that they’ve accomplished during 2009. Summarizing goal lists and whether or not they got ‘er done. Well, I didn’t have any goals for 2009. Not really. I’ve been working for longer than that on reestablishing my workout habit so that it is natural and easy. Still not there. I had been working on losing weight for longer than that. I had been working on eating healthy longer than that. Unsuccessfully, for the most part.

So I’d just like to say that this year I feel like I’ve accomplished more than the last couple years, even without ‘goals’.

1) I can cope better. See “I’ve Been Reading My Own Blog” post from a couple weeks ago.

2) I don’t wait until Monday anymore to start over. Every once in a while I’ll have a bad couple of days that might just happen to span a weekend. But usually, when I have a day of overeating or overindulging, I start over fresh the next day, or sometimes even the next meal. Usually, the next day because typically when I overindulge its late at night. This is a big one for me considering for years, with every plan I’ve ever tried, if I “fell off” or “messed up” I’d wait until the next week to “start over” and “try again”. Now, I just start right away. I think one of the keys to this is the new ways of eating that I’ve found to include vegetables and fruit that I truly enjoy.

3) I’ve found a way of keeping track of my days and things I want to get done that seems to work for me. Also a way of planning meals that seems to work for me. Mainly, my laminated weekly menu and my laminated daily to-do list.

4) My exercise habit is going pretty strong. I got sick a while ago and took about a week off, which was probably more than I needed. But for the most part, I’ve found a couple of ways of working out that I know I will do and that are good for me. Full-body compound movement circuits with simple weights and exercise bands, treadmill running/walking, T-Tapp, and the occasional outdoor run or 5K race.

5) I’ve lost 40 pounds. I’m pregnant and trying to maintain that weight loss for the beginning of the pregnancy and gain a healthy amount of weight. Planning on getting right back on the weight loss wagon after the baby comes, if all goes well.

This might not be much, but I’m pleased with it. I have to be, guilt and beating myself up is not productive. I can only do my best at the time. And hope my best is getting better all the time.

With that in mind, after yesterday’s brownie-bite extravaganza, today’s eats so far. Its proving a little difficult to tame the hunger-beast. I find no matter what I eat that I’m having stomach-rumbling hunger pangs shortly after. So this is definitely more than I hope to be eating once the first-weeks-pregnancy hunger subsides:

  • 2 clementines, clif kidz bar, about 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • tortilla, 2 eggs, 1 oz cheese, 2 turkey slices, 1/2 summer squash (burrito)
  • yogurt, pomegranate arils, clif kidz bar
  • shrimp (4 oz) cooked in little coconut oil, lemon juice and seasonings, lettuce, homemade balsamic dressing, steamed brocolli, 1/2 cup quinoa cooked in chicken broth
  • clementine

Planning on having something else soon, because I’m hungry again. Will probably have more yogurt and arils (SO GOOD, crave it all the time the last couple days). Maybe another clementine or an apple.

I think tomorrow I’ll thaw the one serving I have left of butternut squash soup. I cooked a butternut yesterday, but I didn’t really like the way it turned out just to eat. So I think I’ll probably continue to make soup with butternuts, or purees that I can put in other things.

Leave a Reply

