Figuring out this Maintaining thing

December 8, 2009 at 12:32 pm (General Life Updates, Plan)

Previously, I seem to have two modes for eating. Eating to lose weight, and eating to gain weight. I haven’t seemed to be able to find a medium ground. And now I’m having to figure it out. I guess for most folks, they figure out how to maintain when they get to their goal weight. I’m not at my goal weight, but I am pregnant. And so I need to maintain my weight. There will be some weight gain in the coming months, if I’m able to carry this pregnancy to term, but it shouldn’t be because I’m eating so much that I’ve gained. It should be because I’m eating healthy, sustaining foods that allow the BABY to gain weight. I’m still overweight enough that I don’t NEED to gain a lot of fat stores to accompany my pregnancy like some women need to do. So I should be able to safely gain 15-20 pounds with this pregnancy.

That might be unrealistic, but its what I’m shooting for. When I got pregnant last time, they didn’t want me to gain more than 15 pounds with the pregnancy because of how much I already weighed. I don’t weigh that much anymore, but I’m still overweight. Maybe 20-25 would be more realistic. Either way, it puts me over 200 pounds again the end, which I’m not excited about.

So, what are my goals for this pregnancy? I’ve been eating normally (the way I’ve been eating to lose for about 9 months now), or way more than normal for the last week or so. Pregnancy symptoms are just barely starting – a little hungrier than usual, chest a bit tender, having to wake up every night to pee. There will only be more symptoms, not less, as long as the baby is ok. I need to figure out what my goals are now that my goal isn’t to lose weight. Let’s see….

  1. For now, maintain my weight.
  2. Eat on schedule – breakfast, lunch, snack, dinner, snack.
  3. Continue to include fruits and vegetables with every meal and snack.
  4. Continue to work out 5-6 days a week. Look up new full-body circuits online so as not to get bored. Do more T-Tapp.
  5. Find a pregnancy vitamin and start taking it ASAP (I haven’t been previously worried because of all the vegetables I eat, but better to be safe than sorry).
  6. Get more sleep. Lights out by 10:45 at the latest.
  7. Figure out how I’m having this baby. Home, hospital (start saving), midwife, doctor.

These are pretty basic, but I think they’re good goals that should lead to a healthy gain and an easier loss afterward. If anyone has any suggestions for additions, feel free to speak up!

2 Comments

  1. Casey Leigh said,

    Great goals! I like this one: Continue to include fruits and vegetables with every meal and snack.

    And I need to get more sleep too. Makes all the difference!

  2. farebear said,

    Hey Casey Leigh! Thanks for the comment.

    I’m heading upstairs now – hoping that I’m able to get to sleep with this vicious cough. I’m not used to going to bed this early, so wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

