Head on Straight?

December 3, 2009 at 8:08 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

For now. I never take for granted that I’m going to stay on track forever. But stepping on the scale this morning and seeing (not surprisingly) 194.5 was a good jolt for me. That’s up about 6 pounds in the last week (most of which were from the last two days). And I know a lot of it was from eating so late at night the night before and not working out and it will be pretty simple to get back to 188. But it is also a great reminder that it is easy enough to get back to 195. And from there, 200. And so forth. And I want to stay here in the 180’s for as long as possible before I start gaining baby-weight. Anyone reading PLEASE know I’m not trying to lose weight while pregnant. I eat plenty to maintain my weight, but that’s what I’d like to do for now, is just maintain. In the past, I’ve started gaining weight as soon as I’ve found out I was pregnant. From indulgence, not because of the pregnancy. That’s what I want to prevent this time ’round.

So, eats today:

  • Pumpkin oats (oats, pumpkin, green&whey protein powder, 2 tsp sugar) w/ thawed berries, eaten out of the Naturally More peanut butter jar – so grateful I was able to buy a new jar today!!
  • Garlic, egg, zucchini scramble eaten like a burrito on low-carb, low-cal tortilla (YUM)
  • Larabar – peanut butter cookie flavor
  • Salmon, lettuce, steamed zucchini, sweet potato fries
  • NF, plain yogurt w/ stevia, thawed berries, and hot chocolate powder

And I’m done. Still haven’t fully decided what I’m doing for exercise tonight, but it will probably be running. Don’t really feel like doing all the thinking involved with T-Tapp.

I’ve renewed my conviction to go upstairs directly after my workout. I’m not even going to finish whatever show I’m watching. I’m going to get my water and go upstairs for the evening, leaving my empty water bottle at the top of the stairs to refill in the morning. The purpose for this is two-fold: 1) Gets me away from the kitchen, which usually isn’t a temptation after workout, but sometimes is as the other night proves. 2) Gets me closer to the shower, and that much closer to going to bed. I’ve been going to bed after 11, sometimes as late as after midnight. This needs to change, especially now that I think I’m pregnant. Symptoms are just HINTING at starting, and I’m tired in the mornings, more so than usual. So to help out, I should go to bed earlier. And the sooner I get showered after my workout, the sooner I can turn everything off and go to sleep. Sleep’s going to be hard to come by soon enough. 🙂

I’d also like to do better with my one-load-of-laundry-a-day goal. When I consistently do this, the laundry never piles up and I always feel like its under control. And one load isn’t that much to do. But when I get behind, we start running out of things, and then I have to do more than one load in one day and it is a huge pain.

One of the bloggers I read pretty regularly does this thing where she writes down her weekly goals and then assesses how she did on those goals at the end of each week. Other blogs do similar things, but I think this would be something interesting to try. Another blogger that I read wrote something that really resonated with me today. She was talking about direction in life and how choices we make today affect our life and the consequent choices that are available to us years down the line. I think my system of making daily to-do lists the night before is a good start, but sometimes I get so caught up in the minutiae of each day that I forget that I believe one of my purposes (and everyone’s) in being on this earth is to continually grow and learn and become more like my Heavenly Father. And I get so down in the trenches that I lose sight of the bigger picture. The picture where I need and want to progress and become a better me. Anyway, my point is, I think a weekly goal list would be a good start to remembering the bigger picture. Not to beat myself up if I don’t accomplish something. Because let’s face it, those trenches can get messy. But to help me remember what my larger goals are, and help me remember to fit them in.

Kind of vague right now. I’ll work on getting a concrete weekly list together to illustrate what I’m rambling on about. In the meantime, I need to go put the kids’ clothes away (did 2 loads of laundry today), get them ready for bed, stories read, prays said, and get changed for my workout. Minutiae happens people.

Leave a Reply

