Personal Apple Crisp and 2 days of the week down

December 1, 2009 at 7:13 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

Sunday night I made a personal apple crisp. I wanted something sweet and home-baked, but I didn’t feel like making a whole batch of cookies or brownies or anything like that. So I cut up a gala apple, put it in a small baking dish that I’d sprayed with some olive oil spray, and covered it in a combination of brown sugar, butter, and a crisp mix of oats, flour and more brown sugar. I don’t even know how much of everything I used.

As it was baking, I wasn’t sure there was enough moisture in it, so I poured a little bit (maybe a tablespoon) of evaporated milk into the bottom down the side. I baked it for about 30 minutes (not even sure about that, can’t remember), and let it cool only enough to not harm myself. 🙂 It was SO GOOD!!! I’m craving one even now and its two days later.

Mondays eats were ok. Today’s were ok. A little too much snacking this afternoon (K got out some chips and I found myself munching since we were standing in the kitchen talking about him joining the Navy), and I had a VERY rich dinner. We made shrimp sauteed in butter, spaghetti noodles, and I improvised an alfredo sauce. We had steamed brocolli with it all – but I doubt that bit of healthiness balances out all the butter in that meal. Whoa. Lots of butter. I told K when we make the rest of the bag of shrimp, we are going to try and make it healthy and still taste good. But not so much butter. And I didn’t even eat some of my almost-bad lettuce.

At the office tomorrow. Tonight is Enrichment. I REALLY don’t want to go. I’m all ready and the kids and I will leave in about 20 minutes. I have obligations, so I have to go, and I hope I can snap out of my bad attitude and have a pleasant time. I have to read a story during the presentation portion (they gave me the option of dressing up like the main character YEAH RIGHT), and I have to facilitate the ornament exchange. Though I’m not even sure what that means. I’m taking an ornament that I got out of the Christmas storage today. Pretty much the only one cute enough to give away that I’m willing to part with. But its still from the dollar store and is over 3 years old. Oh, well.

In exercise news, I did a T-Tapp workout last night and it felt really good. I’m going to run tonight while watching Biggest Loser and then I’m probably going to do T-Tapp again tomorrow night. I think it would be good for me to do something besides running every night for a while. But goodness knows that if I’m trying to convince myself to not Tapp because of all the thinking it requires, I’ll make myself run in front of the television like a good, mindless American. 🙂

So, I’ve eaten a lot of good things in the last few days. Yesterday I got 7 or 8 servings of fruits and vegetables. But I had some chips in the evening (about 6 bites), and some cashews over and above my planned snack. And I had candy at work instead of my planned snack (applesauce). Then today I ate well until those chips (that bag is gone so I should be safe from the chip monster now), and then I got snacky. Thankfully there’s not much in the house for me to do any damage. I ate a couple pieces of my kids’ Halloweeen candy, and then that rich dinner.

The thing to do now is to get back to cracking down on my dinners and the candy at the office. I do pretty well at most other times. I hope to go grocery shopping on Thursday, though if my finances would have their way we’d have to do without food. Sucks. We just got caught up last month and now we’re back to not being able to pay most of our bills because my husband WON’T FIRE AN EMPLOYEE HE CAN’T AFFORD TO PAY!!!!!! ARRRRRRRGGGGHHHHH!!!! Okay, that didn’t help my frustration with that issue much, but it was still nice to type it all in SHOUTS!!!!!

So back to the cracking down. I want to set up a rewards system for the office. If I go 2 weeks without touching any extras at the office, I get some kind of treat. Like maybe a movie by myself or some new earrings. Something inexpensive (see above), but something enticing that I wouldn’t otherwise let myself get. Idea needs refining and I’ll need a chart. Or stickers for a calendar or something. 🙂 Must get stickers!

Tomorrow morning, I also have to get ready for work earlier and leave to a Presidency meeting for my new calling. The meeting is at 10:30, so K will have to wake up and watch K2 and then go get P from school, and I’ll have to go straight to work from the meeting. Tomorrow might be a tiring day. All the more reasons to get a good run in tonight for the endorphins.

Oh, and I might be pregnant. Not sure yet. Have taken 3 tests. One was positive but I didn’t believe it. The second two were positive – barely. Like the line was so faint I wasn’t sure it was really there. And since I can’t remember when my last period started exactly – sometime a few or couple days before Halloween – I’m not even sure I’m really late. I was over a week late last time, so I just don’t know. So that’s something else on my mind – and this one seems to sabatoge my eating like nothing else does. Plan: Continue eating as normal when pregnant, not eating MORE because of mental excuse.

2 Comments

  1. Kelli said,

    I’m a lurker on your blog…but wanted to tell you…you ARE pregnant. I had the same experience as you….three very very faint lines (I even took one apart and held it up to the light). I didn’t believe it. Called the dr. and she said there are NO false positives. If you see any line at all…you ARE!

    CONGRATS!

    • farebear said,

      Kelli – I’m so happy to hear from you! I didn’t know I had any lurkers! This is so exciting. 🙂 I lurk on so many blogs, and I don’t de-lurk very often either, so I understand. 🙂

      Thanks for the advice, I think you’re right. I’m more tired than usual (I’m always tired, who isn’t?), and much more emotional. I’m glad no other symptoms (heartburn and queasiness) have started yet. 🙂 I’m trying not to get too excited, though, because after 2 miscarriages I just don’t know how this will go. I HOPE this means we’re going to grow our family, but its not really up to me. I can just take care of myself as best I can and hope its in the plan for us.

      So, we’re going with the concensus – that I’m pregnant. And hopefully we’ll have a baby sometime next year! Thank you for the comment!

      Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

