Thanksgiving Day Turkey Trot

November 29, 2009 at 8:12 pm (General Life Updates)

The Turkey Trot was so much fun! I got up around 6:50 Thursday morning to start getting ready before I had to wake up the rest of the family. I got my teeth brushed, face washed, put on my layers, got a bag of stuff ready to take for the kids. Then I woke up K and the kids and we were out of the house a little before 8 AM. I was so tense and excitable by the time we got there that when we discovered the street was closed off and we would have to go back out to the main thoroughfare in order to park where I had planned, I went kind of manic. Me: “We have to go back out to Research!!” K: “We’re not going back out to Research. Why can’t we park here like all these people?” The people parking on the street. Me: “Because this isn’t a parking lot! There’s a parking lot! We have to go back out to Research!!!!!!” K: “We’re not going back out to Research woman! We’re parking right here.” Me (taking deep breaths): “Ok, that’ll be fine. That’ll work.” K: “Have you lost your mind?”

Anyway, we got parked on the street and walked the 1/2 block to the YMCA, where we found my parents and brother and then I headed inside to get our timing chips. Got those and was going to try and go to the bathroom (my bowels are very unpredictable), but the line for the women’s bathroom was ridiculous, so I decided my bowels were just going to have to bow to my will. 🙂 Luckily, that went ok.

We went back out and after some confusion I met back up with K and the kids and my parents and brother and we migrated to the starting line, which was actually a starting block since there were about 2000 people running. There was no starting signal or horn or shot, so we started moving when the crown murmured and surged forward. 🙂 The course was hilly through a neighborhood, and for the first time I walked during a race. I walked 2 of the hills, and I was glad I had. If I’d tried to make myself run them, it would have taken me a lot longer than it did. As it was, I finished at 37:40, which we estimated at about 37 since it took a while to even pass the starting line in the beginning. Surprisingly enough (or not surprisingly when you consider his track record for hurting himself), I beat K. I don’t know when I passed him because he was way ahead of me at the beginning, but at some point he had to start walking because of his knee and I passed him. He caught up with me shortly after the 2M marker, and then I left him in my dust. Okay, not really, but I did finish a minute and a half ahead of him. Bummer was that Mom and Dad both missed me coming across and were still waiting for me to finish after they saw K get done. I had to find them and call them off from picture-watch and they both felt bad. But it was no big deal.

It was a beautiful morning, plenty warm that we didn’t need the crazy layers that I’d thought about so much. But I would rather be overheated than cold while running, so it was fine. It was fun and I felt good afterwards. I certainly hope it can be a Thanksgiving tradition, and now that I’ve done it once I can be a little more relaxed about it next time, while being more prepared physically. Since we all know I could definitely improve in the speed department. 🙂

I was so grateful for my parents and their support to be there for picture taking and watching the kids while we ran. Although I guess if we could afford a running stroller we could take them with us. It was great to have my brother T there – he’s always a fun addition to any adventure. And I was most grateful to have my DH there. To run with me. To support me and be proud of me, and to accomplish something new for himself. Such a great sport!

Leave a Reply

