Thanksgiving Day — Food

November 29, 2009 at 8:20 pm (General Life Updates)

After the race we came home and started in almost immediately on prepping our contributions to the feast. K cut up his vegetables and made his dips for the veggie tray. I started mixing and mashing to make my pumpkin cake crumble. K served up some little sausages with BBQ sauce to warm up to take. And later after my cake cooked, we both peeled sweet and white potatoes for K’s special roasted/baked potatoes.

We were a little late to his sister’s since we left getting showered until a little too late. Got there at about 2:10 and ate by about 2:30. We had asparagus, mashed potatoes and gravy, turkey, deviled eggs, K’s roasted potatoes, carrots, rolls, fancy fruity punch. It was all very good and I ate way too much. Don’t regret it, either. 🙂

After dinner, most folks went off to nap considering the madness that was going to occur that night as Black Friday began. I was the only one that didn’t nap aside from my MIL. We sat around and chatted while the kids played and I looked at ads and tried to decide if I wanted to go with my SILs or not for shopping madness. In the evening everyone woke up/came back and we played a few short games, had dessert (my pumpkin cake was a hit – it was GOOD), and veggies from the veggie tray. We left around 9 to put the kids down (they were exhausted and so was I).

Leave a Reply

