Butternut Squash Soup

November 29, 2009 at 8:42 pm (General Life Updates)

This deserves a post of its own. It is SO good!!! I didn’t really believe the raving I saw about it online. But, oh my.

I made butternut squash soup today for the first time. Got a recipe online and switched it up a little, and will probably make it slightly different next time. But it is delicious, creamy, and decadent. And its squash for crying out loud.

I used:

  • 1 roasted butternut squash (roasted about an hour on 365, in future, might remember to peel first)
  • 4.5-6 cups of broth
  • 2 T butter
  • 1.5 t onion powder (would probably be even better with the real thing)
  • salt/pepper
  • nutmeg
  • about 3.2 oz evaporated milk

Cut up the squash and cook till tender in the melted butter and onion. Pour in broth and then blend (little by little in a blender, or with an immersion blender, or with a food processor all at once), adding the milk as you go or after its all blended. Dash of salt and pepper to taste, and dash of nutmeg. I used about 4.5 cups of broth, but you might need more than that if your squash is bigger than mine was.

It is SO good. And SO simple. I imagine it won’t be quite so decadent tasting with the evap milk, but I had some leftover from the can I used to make my pumpkin cake crumble and it made a great addition. I have about 2 helpings of soup in the fridge and one in the freezer. YUMMMMMM

Leave a Reply

