Black Friday – Shopping Madness

November 29, 2009 at 8:26 pm (General Life Updates)

I ended up meeting my SILs at Walmart at 3 AM Friday morning. That’s right, 3:00 AM! They actually got started at ToysRus at 10:30 PM Thursday night, but ended up leaving TRU for Walmart without their loot at about 12:45 – 45 minutes after TRU opened and went CRAZY. They were waiting in a laptop line in Walmart when I got there. We canvased the place for the next 2 hours coming up with our game plan, and by shortly after 5 AM we were in line to check out with all our stuff. I got some great bargains and some great gifts for the kids. After further consideration, I’ll be taking at least one thing back, maybe 2. I haven’t decided.

Anyway, it took until 6 AM to get checked out with the crazy lines and rude people. We headed over to Entertainmart for the next step on the gameplan. There, I got some more presents for bargains, and waited in line with a SIL for an XBox for her man. From there, we headed to Village Inn for a much-needed breakfast. After that, Target, Best Buy and Walmart again.

I got home around 10:20 AM after dropping off one of the SIL’s. It was a crazy few hours, but I’m glad I went. It was fun quality time with the SILs, and you can’t argue with bargains like that. Next year, though, I won’t be going at 3 AM. Maybe 4:30 or so. πŸ™‚

Upon arriving home, I cleaned the kitchen, started some mango, kiwis, and apples to dehydrating. And went to bed at noon. I only got about an hour and a half of sleep before the kids crashed my bed. Then K took them at about 1:50 and headed over to his mom’s/sister’s house to say goodbye to his mom, even though he knew we were leaving for Monument at 2:45. Grrrrr. He didn’t get back until 3:30, and we were late. Which meant he only stayed at my parents’ house for about an hour before he had to leave for work. My brother had the idea that he and I should go to a movie while the parents watched the kids, and despite my guilt I let him talk me into it. We saw New Moon. It was ok, but I still like the books better. Easier to read cheese than see it. I don’t see how New Moon was SO MUCH better than Twilight like everyone’s saying, but it was fine. T was a good sport to see it with me after seeing Twilight with me last Thanksgiving. πŸ™‚

After the movie, T got us home at about 9:30. K2 was asleep in the car and was so exhausted that he didn’t really wake up through me getting him out of his seat, taking him upstairs, taking off his coat, and putting him in bed. P got in bed quickly, too, and I talked to T a few minutes before he left. He left to go back to UT Saturday morning so I won’t see him again until Christmas.

And I was in bed by 10:30. Slept until almost 10 on Saturday. And am feeling a little more human as a result.

Saturday was low-key. I went and checked out a couple more sales and bought a couple more gifts. Decided to take those things back that I mentioned. We went to check out a couple of vehicles in the afternoon as a family and ate dinner at Culver’s. NOT HEALTHY. K went to work after the kids were in bed (early – they’re still exhausted), and I did nothing but watch TV.

Today was quiet as well. I’m still not feeling comfortable with my new calling but today wasn’t too bad a start. This afternoon I watched Cinderella Man on TV. We had shakes for lunch – made with ice cream not spinach. And K and K2 took naps. We had baked potatoes and steak and refried beans for dinner. And now I want something sweet, but I’ll have to make it if I really want it.

Tomorrow is back to the regular routine. School for P, work for me. Have Enrichment Tuesday night and need to try and make it to a Presidency meeting for my new calling Wed morning before work. Not sure how that’s going to work. Saturday is the last craft fair of the season, so going with Mom to that.

And Thanksgiving weekend rolls to a close. It was a good one.

1 Comment

  1. Info said,

    Nice article. Thank πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

