Grocery Shopping Friday

November 20, 2009 at 8:23 pm (General Life Updates)

I love grocery shopping. I love trying to find new things, stocking up on old favorites, and filling the kitchen with fresh whole foods that I’m super-excited to eat.

This afternoon I went to Sam’s, Walmart, and Whole Foods for my shopping. I was stoked about some protein powder that I found to replace my egg-white protein powder that I’m out of. It is called Greens & Whey and it is by Biochem Sports. It is full of organic greens such as alfalfa leaf juice powder and barley grass juice powder. 100 calories for 2 scopps that contain 20g of protein. I will use only one heaping scoop per serving since I don’t need to add that much protein to my breakfasts (IMO), and that makes the powder last longer. It also has about a quarter of the sodium my egg-white protein powder contained. Only hitch, I accidentally grabbed the chocolate instead of the vanilla. Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate, but since my morning creations usually involve spinach and fruits, I’d rather have vanilla. I don’t like chocolate and fruit mixed together. So, I’ll have to take it back and get the vanilla, but I was also excited that this container has the same number of servings as my egg white protein powder, but it was only 12.69 instead of 19.99. Savings! Yay! Of course I still have to taste test it. But here’s hoping it tastes as good as it sounds it is for me!

I also bought a bunch of fruit for dehydrating, and I’m excited to get started. Who am I kidding, I’m just excited to have lots of dried fruit to snack on, not necessarily about the work I’m going to have to do. 🙂 I got apples, gala and granny smith (wanted to do honeycrisp again but they were just too expensive), kiwis, bananas, a mango, lots of canned pineapple. Some bulk ginger spice granola will call my name a lot, I’m sure, but hopefully I can ration it reasonably.

Tonight the kids and Mom and I went to get some Quilt Magic. I had a hard time picking one, but I finally settled on a Christmas-themed one with silver bells and green and red ribbons. Classic and simple. I hope it looks good in our house when we decorate for Christmas. We don’t do that until a couple weeks before when we go up into the mountains and cut down our tree; we don’t want the tree to get too dead before Christmas. I really want to buy some new lights this year. Every year we grumble and curse (not real curses, ok maybe one) about our dollar-store and hand-me-down lights. Trying to rig them all up together and so they’ll all plug in is some kind of nasty jig-saw puzzle. Got to buy new lights this year and simplify the process. I’m also supposed to look through Mom’s ornaments that she doesn’t use anymore now that she does a small fake tree with her gold ornaments and that’s it.

Anyway, I got one, Mom bought 3. One for herself, one for my SIL, and one for my daughter, P (a surprise). K2 was a terror the whole time and was very distracting. Ugh, I swear I don’t want to have to take that boy out of the house until he’s 5 or 6. Sheesh.

We came home after the Quilt Magic shopping and Mom only stayed for a couple minutes. I immediately started whipping up some brocolli/cheese scrambled eggs for the kids, which they ate with a clementine (from today’s shopping). I also called my SIL so she could bring over her daughter A for a sleepover tonight with P. The three kids are playing together now and making lots of noise and hopefully getting plenty tired. Because in about an hour I’m putting them to bed and whether they go to sleep or not, they’re going to have to be pretty quiet so they don’t keep K2 awake. And then I’m going to work out – I’m not letting a 4 and 5 year old sleepover disturb my workout schedule that’s going pretty well this week.

When we got home I also got some news from my husband. A member of our bishopric had stopped by and asked if K could support me in being called as 1st counselor in the Primary Presidency at church!! I’ve never served in Primary before, so I’m super-nervous. Of course, when I speak to him myself and he actually asks me, I’ll accept. I’ll serve in whatever capacity the Lord thinks I need to. I’m just nervous about working with other people’s kids! And I don’t know anything about Primary – my memory is too poor for me to remember my days in there as a kid. So anyway, that’ll be a change from teaching Relief Society, and I don’t know what they’re going to do since I’m their only teacher right now.

All in all, its been an eventful day. My eats have been pretty good. There were a lot of samples at Sam’s and I had a taste of almost everything…… ooooh they had these creme brulee candied almonds and I’m still daydreaming about going back and getting some of those. SO GOOD. Basically candy.

I had a brocolli, cheese, egg, garlic burrito for dinner with a clementine. I’m still pretty satisfied, though I’d love to eat a yogurt with some granola. I’m going to try and hold off and have that be it for the day. Especially since I did have a few of the kids’ peanut M&Ms (about 5).

Tomorrow should be pretty packed as well. Mary Kay meeting in morning. Taking back protein powder for vanilla flavor, maybe some running mid-day, work Holiday party with my DH in the evening while SIL watches the kids. If I don’t run mid-day I’ll need to run after our date, and that’s pretty unlikely so I hope I can do it before.

Leave a Reply

