Zucchini Brownies – Take One

November 16, 2009 at 12:15 am (Daily Workouts/Eats)

So I looked up a bunch of recipes for zucchini brownies tonight, settled on one that looked pretty similar to all the others, read the reviews (so I knew what to expect and had ideas on how to modify), and went at it.

Recipe (deviated slightly from what I got from the internet):

  • 2/3 c wheat flour (that’s what I had left)
  • 1 1/3 c white flour
  • 1 1/8 c sugar
  • 1/2 c unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • shake of salt
  • 2 T of vanilla
  • 2 T of applesauce (roughly)
  • 2 c peeled, grated zucchini
  • 1/2 c coconut oil

I mixed the dry ingredients and the wet separately, then combined. The batter was so dry I had to put on some plastic gloves and use my hands to get it mixed well, like very tacky bread dough. Used my hands to pat and push into a 9×13 pan and cooked for about 35 minutes at 350 degrees. The recipe said 30 minutes, but at this altitude in Colorado sometimes things cook differently.

They smelled good. I managed to let them cool enough to not burn myself, but they were still pretty toasty when I dug in. Other than a couple of pieces of zucchini that cooked right on top, you can’t tell it has a veggie in it at all – the zucchini disappeared into the rich chocolate color of these cake-like brownies. The first bite was a little disappointing because they definitely don’t taste like the brownies I’m used to out of a box, fudgier and more dense. But as I continued to eat (and I DID), they grew on me. More and more. And I ate almost half the pan. Good grief. So I won’t be making them anytime soon unless I have someone to give them to.

Changes I’ll try next time: add an egg and more applesauce. They are very crumbly and a bit dry. Still taste good, but I’d like to try and get them closer to a consistency that you can pick up with your hands and munch on. I’m hoping egg and applesauce will do that? But since I’m a novice to baking I’m not sure. Anyone? I’d also like to make them with all whole wheat flour and perhaps split one cup of sugar between white and packed brown. If I add the egg, they are no longer vegan, but I didn’t realize they were vegan until I read the reviews anyway. And since I’m not even a vegetarian, let alone a vegan, I’m not too worried about that.

So now I just need an excuse to make brownies for someone. Brownies that I will have one of (to make sure they’re edible) and then plate the rest and give them away. I might have to grease the pan or spray it, though, because it would be hard to get these out of the pan right now in any pretty fashion that would look decent enough to plate up.

Oh, and as my mom suggested, I really should grow some zucchini. I absolutely LOVE zucchini!! So many uses! Wheeee!

1 Comment

  1. Lori said,

    I have read some different reviews on coconut oil and many recipes say use half and half with whatever other oil you use (Crisco) because coconut oil is so heavy. I’ve never baked with it as the only oil, but that could be part of the issue. Total whole wheat flour is tricky, too, I hear, I do more of a half and half for baking. Extra applesauce is always good, but my theory is only one change at a time! I think my brownie recipe, totally unhealthy is 3 eggs, LOL!

    Okay, another thought…
    Send me your address, I have a cookbook I would love to send you because with all the experimenting you are doing I bet you would *love* it! It’s Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld, check it out on Amazon. If you are interested and don’t already own it, I’d be more than happy to send it to you. My kids are grown and gone and we pretty much eat the same thing all the time, LOL! Her brownies use spinach and carrot puree…….. It’s an interesting read, at least!

Leave a Reply

