How do you deal with Halloween Candy??????

November 3, 2009 at 11:11 am (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

Ok, so I went to all the trouble of helping my kids collect candy. They actually collected candy two nights in a row. I literally have a small rubbermaid storage container full of candy. It is on top of the fridge. I combined their two bags into it and have been digging in ever since. Last night I finally decided there was nothing else in there that I really want, but I know when it comes down to munchy, crunchy, I-want-sugar time, that won’t hold.

So, what should I do? My 2-year old won’t care if the candy disappears. Sure, he’ll ask for some and he’ll get told no, but he’ll get over it. My 5-year old will know. And question. And maybe cry. But we’ve all been getting way more than our quota of sugar for the last few days, her included. Its not good for her teeth, her bones, her health, or…. well, anything. Do I throw away candy that I purposely brought into my home? Is that wasteful? Should I have her pick a few things that she really wants and set them aside for rationing a couple a week? Should I throw away all the candy that is even MAYBE going to tempt me?

I don’t know what to do with it. But I know I have to do something, because having a huge case of candy at arms length is not helping me or my health, or my family’s health. If we’re going to snack, there are so many better options. Of course, we don’t have a lot of those options in the house right now.

I was going to go grocery shopping today, and then K started installing the laminate flooring yesterday with plans to finish it today. So I was going to dedicate myself to making sure I helped him with that this afternoon. But he woke up this morning at 5:30 and started puking by 6. He’s had diarrhea and more puking since then, and he’s in a lot of abdominal pain. He had me look up appendicitis symptoms – I hope that’s not it. Its probably callous of me to say, but I hope we don’t have to take him to the hospital; we still haven’t paid off the bill from June when he went in from dehydration and diarrhea.

This makes me want to get my family healthy. I feel like even though I’m still overweight and could be stronger, that I’m healthy. And strong. I try to give my children good things to eat, to bolster their immune systems with whole foods, etc. But I feel like I’m not doing a good enough job. And its even harder to make my husband eat healthily. Do I need to start making 3 meals a day for him, too? Perhaps I should. Perhaps I should make him eat what I eat. And like it dangit. So that he’ll be not just strong in physical strength, but strong in his immune system, and internal workings. I dunno if that makes sense.

The floor situation and the candy situation helped me develop some kind of excuse for not working out last night. Not cool. I want to be motivated again, and I’m struggling. Again. Sheesh. Well, its a new day.

2 Comments

  1. Lori said,

  2. farebear said,

    Thanks Lori! I’ll check it out!

Leave a Reply

