Happy Halloween!!

October 31, 2009 at 12:32 pm (General Life Updates)

Food adventures over the last couple days:

Whole wheat spinach pumpkins this morning for myself and the kids. Used enough red food coloring to turn them mostly pink, though they were kind of brownish pink when cooked. I had greek nonfat yogurt and berries on my pancakes.

Yesterday had an egg & shredded zuchinni burrito for lunch w/ some sharp cheddar cheese. Delicious.

Last night went to Olive Garden with a couple friends. Ordered a shrimp and cheese tortillini dish that came SWIMMING in butter and grease from the cheese. I ate most of the tortellinis and all of the shrimp, but I definitely wished it hadn’t come with so much grease on it. I had a pumpkin cheesecake for dessert that was super-rich but super-yummy. But I didn’t finish it because I was stuffed. Don’t get me wrong, I almost finished it. But I was proud of myself for leaving those last 6 bites or so – and of my favorite part no less: the crust. While waiting to meet up with my friends, I walked around Borders and then the mall a bit and ended up buying a snickerdoodle and a brownie at this new place that is in the location where Mrs. Field’s used to be. Yeah, I had a couple bites of each and they just didn’t compare to Mrs. Field’s. I left them in the car while at the restaurant, and then when I went to get the kids at my parents’ house, I left them with my mom for them to eat or throw away. I was happy with myself about this, too, because with the mood I was in when I got home I definitely would have eaten both.

Dinner was pleasant, the conversation flowed. But it just wasn’t as fun as it used to be for us to go out. I don’t know if its because they’ve changed or because I have – I’m inclined to think its me. Strangely enough, I don’t feel like I have anything in common with either of these two girls anymore. I say strange because we all have small children, we’re around the same age, we’re all LDS. But other than that, I don’t think there’s any common factors anymore as far as interests go. More and more, I’m enjoying my strange food adventures. I like talking about them. I like to talk about working out. I would love to have a conversation with someone that had some ideas for me! Some new takes, stuff to try. Or that just didn’t mind talking about my strange food intake without making faces and getting kind of grossed out. This might be too much to ask. And other than that, I don’t really have any hobbies. Which probably makes me the person that isn’t very interesting. Point is, I didn’t have a blast. It was a pleasant evening but the highlight of it was the time I spent with my mom after handing over the kids and the time I spent at their house picking up the kids and laminating my two ‘ideas’.

The kids had fun at grandma and grandpa’s last night. They dressed up and got some candy, which they thankfully haven’t asked for yet today. This evening they’ll get to dress up again and we’ll go to our ward’s Halloween party. I still haven’t decided if I’m going to go to the building in a few hours and help decorate. I’m looking forward to going to an activity with my husband; its been so long since K has been able to go due to work. He’s going to need to get started on his chili soon, so I’m glad to hear that he’s up upstairs.

Ate too much candy and sugar last night – too late into the night. Didn’t weigh myself this morning. Going to work out tonight. I didn’t last night when we got home after 9 PM and found Daisy had poo’d all over the laundry room (small room) and then spread it….. everywhere. I cleaned up some of it, but left the rest for K. I didn’t sign up for full-room wipedowns with getting dogs. This is his domain. If our kids spread poop on the walls, I’ll clean that up. But I’m not cleaning up dog poop.

Just found out I’m going to get picked up to help decorate at 2:30. Trying to decide if I shower before or after. I’m thinking after, before the party.

Leave a Reply

