Might have to stop chewing gum

September 17, 2009 at 9:28 am (Plan)

Not really. But every time I think of getting to that point in weight loss when you have to tighten things up a bit to continue to lose, I think of a story my mom told me about a lady doing Weight Watchers. She couldn’t figure out why she wasn’t losing weight, since she was doing everything “right” (not sure what her definition of “right” was) and she had stopped losing. Eventually, she and her leader figured out it was because she was not counting her GUM. GUM! Now, realistically, I’m assuming it was full-calorie gum and she was chewing a LOT of it. But I always said that when I got to the point when I had to cut out GUM in order to keep losing weight, I’d be done.

Since I don’t really chew gum (maybe once a week), my “gum” will probably be something different. Like peanut butter maybe?

Regardless of what it is, I’m not to that point yet. But I am to a point (I think) when I need to be a little more careful. Up until now, I’ve been able to lose weight at a respectable rate (okay, not respectable, but losing) and still have a lot of treats throughout the week. When I say treats, I mean little chocolates at the office, a little bit of starch with dinner, maybe a small helping of seconds of starch (about 1/4 cup), creamy sauces on my meat, an extra peach or snack with my snack. Dessert after dinner instead of a healthy snack. Not sure what else to catalog as treats, but suffice it to say that I’ve been pretty lenient with my diet.

One day does not a statistic make, but yesterday I felt I had eaten well, pretty much on the mark. I’d had that extra peach after my yogurt/peach/granola snack since the peaches were so delicious. I’d had that extra 1/4 cup of whole wheat buttered noodles with dinner. But other than that I had plenty of veggies and fruit and healthy proteins. And this morning I was up a 1/2 pound.

This is not a tragedy or anything. But it has made me reflect on my diet over the last week or so and know that I need to batten down the hatches a little. I need to actually monitor my treats to make sure that feeling like its time for one (or has been sufficient time since the last one) is not just wishful thinking on my part. Sometimes a day between indulgences feels like a week – but its only a day. And indulging every day is no way to lose weight. Not to say that I don’t like the things I eat that I don’t consider indulgences.

So, with that, it is Thursday. I’m going to look over my food journal right now and see when my last “indulgence” occurred ……… okay I’m back. Last indulgence: chocolates at work on Tuesday.  Before that: cinnabread, tons of candy on Sunday. Before that: candy, pizza, cinnabread on Saturday. Every week isn’t like that exactly, but that’s not a good trend. Two days in a row, then one day before the next indulgence. Now its Thursday, its only been one full day since my last treat. To me, that means I need to set a goal to eat well and under control (yummy, healthy, planned foods) until at least next Tuesday. Tuesday I will plan for an indulgence, whatever I’m feeling like that day. Perhaps some chocolate or ice cream. Not a whole day off – the rest of the day will be planned and healthy as usual.

With all that said, I was up to 189 this morning. I’m not upset about it, though I’m not thrilled either. It could just be a reflection of the second half of my day yesterday being when most of the food got eaten, or some retained water because my muscles are in repair mode, or not getting enough sleep, or where I am in my cycle. So many things. But I hope over the next week to see a more downward trend.

Leave a Reply

