BMI –

September 12, 2009 at 11:26 am (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

Out of curiosity this morning, I checked out my BMI on an internet BMI calculator. I’ve been in the “obese” category for a while, so I thought I’d see if I’d come down into the overweight category yet.

Nope.

🙂

I weighed in at 186.5 this morning, which puts my BMI at 30.1. It has to be 29.9 to be considered overweight and not obese. So after plugging in some hypothetical numbers I’ve figured out what the BMI thinks my goals should be. Not to say that this is what they are.

185.5 (1 more pound lost) = 29.9 BMI. Simply “overweight”.

154 = 24.9 BMI. The very top of the “normal” weight range for my height.

My original goal weight was 160, which technically still leaves me overweight for my height. But I’m not sure I care about those 6 pounds. I’d still be super happy to get to 160, and I’m not gonna knock 154, but if 154 requires a super strict diet, I’m not sure I’ll ever get there.

Right now I’m not counting calories. I’m not counting points. I’m not counting portions. I’m basically trying to eat well and as healthy as possible. I’m endeavoring to try new things. I’m trying to curb/eliminate my binging late-night habits and my grazing-all-day habits during the day. I have a basic eating schedule: breakfast, lunch, snack, dinner, snack. I try to include a vegetable and/or fruit in as many of those as I can. Mentally, I guesstimate my snack calories and try to keep them between 200 and 300 calories, pretty easy to do since I eat a lot of the same things. I work out 6 days a week, though about once a week it seems one of those workouts is just a walk, short bike ride, hike, or some other active activity. I try to get enough sleep, and I try to drink at least 64 oz of water a day. I only have a starch with dinner at about half my dinner meals, and I try to include lettuce/salad at them all (not always successfully). I record all my meals in an Excel spreadsheet, just a simple description sometimes including portions & notes. I also record my workouts and daily weights.

I wish I could figure out how to insert my weight graph here. But it seems to be beyond me. As of today, I’ve lost 45.3 pounds since March 1, 2009.

Moving on.

So far today I’ve made the cake for P’s cake, ice cream, pinata get-together this afternoon. It is cooling; I still need to make the icing, color it, and decorate her cake. I also need to go buy the pinata and candy to fill it. Fill it. Hang it. Buy ice cream. Make sure house is presentable enough for family.

Tonight I have to finish preparing my lesson for tomorrow. Bathe the kids so they’re clean for church. Work out.

Last night I watched the movie Push that came through Netflix. It was pretty lame. I also have Knowing to watch. I hope its a little better. I did T-Tapp last night since I was a little sore from my magazine workout the night before, hoping it would work some of the soreness out. It worked to a certain extent, but I’m still a little tender today. Planning on running tonight.

Ok, I better be off to the pinata hunting.

Leave a Reply

