Yay!! Its Friday!

September 11, 2009 at 9:16 am (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

Yesterday was pretty productive. I made another, bigger batch of homemade granola, summer and zuchinni squash dehydrated chips, dehydrated apple chips, oat bran zuchinni muffins (ended up freezing four of them). I had zuchinni pancakes for breakfast, eggs & zuchinni for lunch, and pancakes, bacon and eggs for dinner. That’s a lot of eggs & zuchinni! I went to the store for some groceries and I went to the library and found the next two books in the series I’m reading. I vacuumed upstairs, did the dishes, and worked out.

The dinner was what K decided on making for P’s birthday dinner, and she enjoyed it thoroughly, though she was almost too excited about her cupcakes and candles to finish. He bought a bunch of mini cupcakes, and we put candles in five of them so we could sing and she could blow them out. We’ll have another session of singing and candle blowing on Saturday, but we wanted to do something on the actual day. K got her a couple of little gifts in a pretty princess castle gift bag – she’s more excited about the bag than anything else. All in all I think she had a good day, including a nice long nap in the afternoon that she voluntarily took while I was at the store, apparently saying she was cold, getting a blanket and setting herself up on the couch and then conking.

Today I steamed some of the kale I bought yesterday to put into a shake. That stuff smells good!! I thought it would be bitter and nasty, honestly, and was relieved I was disguising it in a shake, but after smelling it I’m excited to try just eating some with dinner as well. It made my shake grittier than usual, which I’m not sure I loved. But it might just not have been blended long enough since the noise was bothering K2 more today that it usually does, though he never likes it.

I’m going to finish this post and then go get ready for work. Since P gets out of school at 10:15 today. K didn’t get home from work this morning until about 6:45, so he went to bed around 8:15 and isn’t going to get much sleep today. I’ll leave for work at 11:30 so he’ll get about 3 hours and then he’ll have to wake up at least until K2 goes down for his nap. He might be able to convince P to take a nap with him after that, since she was complaining about being tired this morning before school.

Last night I tried doing my strength training workout before I ran. It was a nice change and I think I’ll try it again tonight – doing a different magazine workout. I also think I am going to take my weights back down to 12.5 pounds from 15. The 15 is just a bit too much for me to do my lifting with good form, and I’m a strong believer in holding good form so that I don’t hurt myself and so that the exercises are effective. I haven’t felt like doing T-Tapp this week yet. Perhaps I’ll do T-Tapp on Saturday afternoon. We’ll see.

It is super windy outside today, and the huge (like over a story high) weed-tree that has grown on the side of our house is scraping the house loudly, making it sound as if there is a huge downpour going on out there. We really need to cut that tree down. If it had grown in the middle of the yard, I’d probably leave it. But the location is not good, which is made very evident every time it gets windy like this.

I still haven’t decided exactly what we’re doing for P’s birthday on Saturday. A cake, candles, family, and perhaps a pinata will be involved. Not sure if we’re going out to dinner or if we’ll just have something here before family comes over for cake and ice cream and pinata hitting. I’m struggling with deciding whether or not to invite the kids on the street over or not. I’m leaning toward not, simply because I’m not comfortable having their parents in my house. Perhaps the parents wouldn’t need to come? I don’t know. My little girl is 5 now and these ‘problems’ of dealing with friends and other kids are only going to get worse. 🙂

1 Comment

  1. Hampers said,

    Yay….its’ friday. I am enjoying my weekend going through blogs. Your blog looks perfect and hope that you have a perfect and enjoyable weekend.

Leave a Reply

