Slow & Steady Only Wins the Race When…..

September 5, 2009 at 9:47 am (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

Your only competition is a flaky rabbit with pride issues. 🙂

But I was slow and steady this morning, once again getting passed multiple times by the same people that kept walking/running/walking/running. I tried to ignore it however and stay in my zone and just keep breathing in a way that didn’t make me cough. Because I was afraid if I started to cough I wouldn’t be able to stop.

So I kept running, and I BEAT my last 5K time!! Yay!! By only 15 seconds, but still! I was excited when I rounded the corner onto the track and saw the timer. I booked it to the end, just trying to get through the arches before the timer said 36 minutes. It was so unexpected to beat my time since this cold is still making me weak. But it felt good. Other than the coughing fit I had right after I stopped and managed to get oxygen again.

My brother got 4th overall, 3rd man. I was so proud of him. He hasn’t even been running lately, so I think he was pleased with himself as well. It was cold; my hands didn’t unfreeze until we’d run more than half the course. Next time I run a fall/winter race, I’ll start out with gloves because ice cube, stiff hands was extremely unpleasant. But it was a pretty simple course and other than some mental urging I had to do for myself to keep running, it wasn’t too bad. And I wasn’t the last runner, which is always a fear of mine.

Its 9:30, and I’ve already been up for 4 hours. 🙂 Nothing like race day to get up before dawn, drag your kids out of bed, and go hang out in the cold for a few hours.

Now I’m looking forward to November. There is supposedly some Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving Day that I’m thinking about running. Offset some serious eating later in the day. 🙂 And could be a fun tradition to start. I might meet some resistance, since Thanksgiving is usually about the guys going off to play football early in the morning, not going to hang out and wait for someone running a race. But we’ll see.

Okay, so my only other plans for today are making some YUMMO lasagna and some YUMMO apple crisp (and sides for dinner) for our guests this evening. I’m excited to be cooking for company! I hope it turns out as yummy as it sounds!

Leave a Reply

