Race Countdown – 11 hours

September 4, 2009 at 6:42 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

I did run for 20 minutes last night, and I didn’t die coughing. But it wasn’t easy, and I’m not in top form by any means. Which means that my form compared to the other runners’ forms tomorrow – its not going to be pretty. On the up side, I got some pretty good zzz’s last night, sleeping almost soundly from 10:40 until my alarm went off at 7:00 AM this morning. Over 8 hours. I’ve had to do a lot of nose blowing (Oh – MY POOR NOSE) and coughing today, but I do feel better. So I have high hopes that I’ll do ok tomorrow. I’m aiming to tie my time from the last race. I’d aim to beat it if I felt better.

In other news, I’ve solidified the dinner menu for tomorrow night when Mom, Dad, and my fellow-runner-brother come over in the evening. We’re going to have lasagna, corn on the cob, garlic bread, salad, and apple crisp for dessert. I’m going to sneak some carrots and zuchinni into the lasagna, so I hope it goes well. After all, I’ve only made lasagna one other time. Eeeh.

Preparation for that today included mopping the kitchen floor, cleaning the kitchen, vacuuming the edges downstairs, washing, ironing, and re-hanging the curtains in front of the sliding glass doors, washing the doors, vacuuming the area rug and sweeping the rest of the floor. Cleaning the toilet and sink in the bathroom, and checking my ingredients for dinner. And when K asked a favor of me, I asked for payment in the form of dusting – I HATE dusting. I’ve cleaned up toys, done laundry. And phew – written out like that it sounds like I’ve done a lot today! Oh, and I made some dinner.

I also tried some okra as a snack this morning. Chopped, dipped in egg and spiced corn meal and baked. It wasn’t bad, though I didn’t love it and I didn’t eat it all, nor save it. I didn’t prepare it all, so I might try a different way for the rest just to get the full experience. I was so nervous about the slime that everyone writes about that it was good to just get my first experience out of the way.

I covered one of our couches in a king-size sheet as a cover – I think it is a huge improvement on the stained cushions. I don’t have a sheet big enough for the other couch, but it isn’t as stained because it doesn’t get used as much – not as good of a view of the TV. Sad, but true that this is how we usually choose seats around here.

So I feel pretty prepared for both company and the race tomorrow. We are leaving the house at 6 AM to go down and get signed in. Since I don’t have a number ahead of time, I’m assuming they’ll be handing those out at the race along with the t-shirts. It starts at 7 so I’m hoping that getting there by 6:20 or so will be sufficient time for all that. I’m going to do some T-tapp tonight to make sure I’m limber but not tight from days of non-activity from this cold. Actually, I guess I only had one day completely off. I don’t know if I’ll make it through a whole 50 minute workout, but I’ll get some sweat on. Then I need to get to bed as early as possible so I can wake up before dawn tomorrow. It helps that I’m in limbo between summer shows and fall shows for DVR-ing – I got next to nothin’ to watch right now. Its good for me. 🙂

I’m sure I won’t write again until after my I-Have-A-Cold-But-I’m-Running-A-5K-Anyway Race. So I’ll write about how it goes tomorrow or Sunday.

Leave a Reply

