Last Night was Brutal

August 31, 2009 at 8:51 am (General Life Updates)

The kids are sick. Now, usually when they’re sick with normal colds, they act the same during the day. Just as chipper, hyper, and energetic. Maybe a little more grouchy. But at night. Oh, at night.

Last night K2 woke up crying 3 different times. The last time, he came and laid in bed with me for about 2 hours,  until 1:30 AM when I just couldn’t take it anymore. He slept, he coughed, he sneezed, he kept sitting up – not even really awake just sitting there until I gently helped him lay back down. By 1:30, I had to put him back in his bed because I basically hadn’t gotten any sleep yet. So after putting him down, I slept like a rock for about 2 hours and woke up at 3:30 to P standing next to my side of the bed asking if she could lay with me. I told her no. Does that make me a horrible mom? I gently took her back to her room, set her up with her blankets, told her there was no fly in her room (her excuse for coming into my room), and told her I loved her and to go back to sleep.

Then I stumbled back to my room, went to the bathroom, and got back in bed. I got back to sleep pretty quickly, and the kids didn’t bother me again. But I kept waking up wondering if it was time to get up for P’s school yet.

After much deliberation, I’ve decided to still go to the office today, if just to get it over with until Friday, because if I don’t go today I’ll feel like I have to go tomorrow. So I’m going to go. It is almost 9 AM and K2 hasn’t made a peep yet. I’ve been reading blogs in my Google Reader and checking emails for the last hour. I haven’t had breakfast yet because I have to wait for K2 to wake up so that I can use the blender for my green oatmeal, which I haven’t had all weekend.

And I probably could have taken a morning nap for the last hour. Stupid Google Reader.

Leave a Reply

