Ideas on a Sunday afternoon

August 30, 2009 at 4:12 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

This morning I went to church. By myself. It was wierd being there without the kids, though I’m used to being there without K. I didn’t love it. I came home after sacramant meeting to make sure the kids were taken care of and fed, since I wasn’t sure if K would have woken up to do it or not. He had, but I’m ok that I came home instead of staying. I requested, firmly, that K start setting an alarm for Sunday mornings so that it isn’t up to me to get him up. Then it feels like its my decision whether or not he goes, when it should be up to him. He’s a grown man. Anyway.

I also stopped to chat before I left church with a young mother in my ward who moved here pretty recently. She and I have really clicked so far, though that has just consisted of a couple great conversations so far. Apparently, some ladies are causing a lot of drama around her and the way she is trying to do her calling. I just don’t understand why people have to be so ridiculous and childish. I mean, I know I have my own issues and imperfections, but I can’t see why everyone can’t get along!! And if you don’t like someone – simply because you don’t like them (let’s be honest, sometimes that happens) you should still be CIVIL to them! Its usually not even their fault you don’t like them! I just was so baffled by what she was telling me was going on that I didn’t even have any advice for her. It just all seemed so silly. So I really hope everyone gets their panties straightened out and they all stop acting like they’re in 5th grade. But I know it might not smooth out that well. All I can do is try and befriend everyone, keep any mental judgements I make to myself, and try my darndest not to participate in the nonsense. Ugh.

Moving on to less stressful stuff – registered for my race. Oh, wait, that’s stressful, too! 🙂 But in a good way. I’m so excited! I didn’t go for an outdoor run on Saturday because of the ominous clouds, but I’m going to do so on Tuesday. And hopefully Thursday as well. T will be here probably Friday night. I’ve invited him and my parents over for dinner Saturday night. No idea what I’m going to serve. Excerpt from an email I sent to that young mother: Upon telling K that I wanted to invite you and D and the boys over for dinner, we discussed it. And it came to light that I have NEVER had ANYONE over to our house that I did the cooking. K has cooked EVERY time. Now, I’m still racking my brain thinking there HAS to be some time that I cooked for someone besides my husband and my kids, but so far, it looks like I NEVER HAVE. OH MY GOSH – how sad is that??? K and I were laughing and he was joking around that I’m a horrible wife, and I was like, you’re supposed to be making me feel better!! And he goes, how can I when I’m just telling you the truth? And in actuality, I knew that I’d never invited anyone else to our house for dinner besides family – by the time I had made friends that I would want to have dinner with, our dogs had thrashed our house and I never felt comfortable inviting anyone but family.

So there you have my shameful realization. Mom and Dad and T will be my first guinea pigs, and then I’m hoping to invite that young mother (we’ll call her “R”) and her family over for Sunday dinner in a couple weeks.

I made some “granola” that isn’t really granola but its working great as a topping for my yogurt, which is all I really wanted. This is how I made it. I think I’d make it roughly this way again, maybe a few tweaks.

1/2 cup quinoa, cooked plain
1 cup dry oats
1/6 cup brown sugar
about a Tablespoon of honey (not sure, because I just drizzled)
1/2 cup of Kix cereal
1 T coconut oil

I mixed everything together except the coconut oil, melted the coconut oil on my cookie stone and then tossed the mixture around the oil to get it even as possible. Then I cooked it at 400 for about 25 minutes, tossing frequently. I think I’d cook it a little less, or the same amount at a slightly lower temperature. I’d move the tray up to the high position in the oven from the start, instead of toward the end like I did this time. It was cooking a little too fast from the bottom for my liking. Anyway, it is crunchy, barely sweet, and pretty healthy I think.

I haven’t made my hummus yet. I’m hoping to make it Tuesday or Wednesday. Tuesday night there is an activity to which I’m going to take some veggies and refried black bean dip (refried black beans and some cream cheese mixed together – never tried it but it sounds good to me). I’ve dried a bunch of stuff in the dehydrator, and I’m taking a break for a few days. I’ve made strawberry, banana, apple, blueberry chips. Mango fruit leather. Zuchini chips. The zuchini chips turned out pretty good, though I’m not sure the kids will like them (they haven’t tried them yet) because I think I used too much pepper for them. But they are tasty. I used olive oil, parsley, salt, and pepper to season them before drying. I think it future efforts I’ll use less oil, less pepper, and more garlic salt instead of regular salt.

Here are some of the things I want to accomplish/try over the next few months:

  • Make hummus to see once and for all if I like it or not
  • Make a framed Living Christ hanging for my neighbor. A made one for me a couple years ago for Christmas, and the mat around the proclamation is covered in little pictures of Christ in one situation or another, cut to fit the mat perfectly. It is so cool, and I want to share it with someone.
  • Use my Pampered Chef cookie maker thingy. It is this cookie gun that you put a cutout into and it squooshes the dough through as you pull the trigger on the gun in the perfect shape of the cutout. I’ve never used it, and I’ve had it for like 3 or 4 years. I want to make pretty sugar cookies to give my friends for Christmas, so I figure I need to practice using the gun. Only problem is figuring out what to do with the practice cookies – because I can’t eat them all.
  • Try making more dried chips – more veggie chips. Perhaps some fruit leathers with steamed spinach blended in to give it an extra vitamin and mineral boost.
  • Make oat bran muffins, zuchinni muffins
  • Try whole wheat pancakes again, but this time add oatmeal or oat bran to try and make them thicker, fluffier, less flat
  • Continue to try new foods, new food combinations, and new recipes to expand my healthy eating frontier, and hopefully by extension, my family’s healthy eating frontier
  • Continue to spend 15 minutes a day reading to the kids
  • Rollerblade for exercise
  • Try to find a hobby of some sort to revert to when I’m bored and want to eat. Could go back to drawing.

I’m sure there’s more. But those are the things that have been on my mind today that I didn’t want to forget.

P’s birthday is in 10 days. And I have nothing planned. Ugh. Might be copying my SIL that lives in Japan. I’ll keep you (my future self, my only reader) posted on how that goes, if I decide to do it.

2 Comments

  1. Arnel said,

    Is this “granola” of yours good? What’s the taste? Maybe I’ll try cooking this hmmm. 🙂

  2. farebear said,

    Hey Arnel – I think its pretty tasty. Its very crunchy because of the quinoa, maybe too crunchy for some people. But I like it a lot. I’ll probably never make it the same way twice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

