Productive

August 25, 2009 at 6:51 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

I got a lot done today. Don’t know if I would have been so productive if I hadn’t finished the third (and last) book in the series I was reading, but anyway…. List: Cleaned all 3 toilets, all 3 bathroom sinks & mirrors, 2 bathtubs, put away 2 loads of laundry, sorted through a huge stack of paperwork & filed it, culled P’s huge folder of preschool papers down to keep just a few really fun ones for memories, cleaned the kitchen, loaded and unloaded the dishwasher, wiped down the counters & put away a bunch of stuff in the “leave-it” spot on the counter, scrubbed the kitchen drain, scrubbed the stairwell wall (K2 had used a crayon on it a couple weeks ago, all. the. way. up), swept downstairs, took P and picked her up from school, fed the kids, fed myself, helped P do her homework, and culled my Google Reader subscriptions.

That last one has needed to happen for a while. I was so enamored of Google Reader that I got a little carried away and I was getting over 40 updates a day. Its fun – feels kind of like I’m getting emails! But really, I was just wasting a lot of time reading about other peoples’ lives instead of living mine. So I went through it and deleted a bunch of blogs. I enjoyed those blogs, the people writing them are fun and entertaining. But really, I read blogs to find inspiration and ideas for my eating and losing weight habits. I also read them for reassurance that others are struggling like I am, and still succeeding. So many of the blogs I’ve added to my Reader are by young ladies that I just really have nothing in common with. They are single, have boyfriends, or are newly married. None of them have kids. Most of them live in very different areas. They’re much younger than me, and most of them work full-time outside the home. Well, none of that sounds like me. And while its fun to live vicariously a little – I got things to do!! I hope to visit their blogs occasionally, and the ones that had Recipe Index pages, I saved in my favorites so I can go search them when I’m looking for something new to try. But for now, I won’t be reading every time they update. I kept the blogs that I’ve been reading for a while, have thoughtful posts that make me think or that I feel a little attached to because I’ve been reading them for a while. I kept the ones that are struggling to lose weight and build new habits and are doing great – or sometimes not so great. And I hope that keeps me from spending too much time sitting here, reading about living when I should be DOING.

Had my wonderful green oats again this morning. Still loving it. I figure I’ll start having shakes for breakfast soon, but for now I’m happy having oats every morning. I might add a little coconut oil to it tomorrow. Done pretty well in the eats today, if a little heavy on the beef tips at dinner. They were so good! Last night was not good and I owe $10 to the family competition pot. I think I’m losing. 😦 But, I started this thing to help me be better, and it HAS helped me. I will need to walk for 30 minutes on Sunday to make up for not working out last night. The $10 is for my binge. Which, after I decided I owed $10, just got worse.

Up to 192.5 this morning from Sunday’s low of 190. But I am hopeful that my PMS-appetite (I think that’s what’s up) will be controlled the next few days and I’ll get back down to 190 and below. I think I’m going to run tonight; I’m not really in the mood to T-Tapp. So if that is what I end up doing, I’ll T-Tapp tomorrow.

Also need to do a little grocery shopping tomorrow to get stuff to try with my mom’s dehydrator! I have some apple slices in a couple of trays going right now as my initial foray into drying fruit and veggies. I’m hoping I have some yummy dried apples to feed the kids tomorrow. I know now why I remember Mom putting the dehydrator out on the balcony while it was going; its kind of noisy. But I’ll put up with the noise….. because…..

THE PUPPY’S GONE!!! Yay!! He snapped at K and the kids one too many times and K decided not to keep him. I can’t even BEGIN to describe how relieved I am. He’s gone! He’s gone! He’s gone! I could do a dance, but I won’t. I’m going to shampoo the carpet upstairs tomorrow to try and fix some of the damage he did with his accidents, and I’m looking forward to getting out some of the spots that weren’t caused by him at all.

Well, gotta give the kids a bath. Especially since K2 decided to write on his face and arms with a pen just now.

Leave a Reply

