New week, Monday August 3rd

August 3, 2009 at 7:33 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

I can’t believe its already August and summer is almost over. Crazy how fast it has gone.

The end of last week was not good for diet. I was frustrated with plateauing (again) at 195 and I got lazy. We didn’t have a lot of options in the house for vegetables, etc., and I managed to find too much to eat even then. I owe $10 to the pot for Thursday night. I wanted to classify it as controlled snacking, but I had to admit it wasn’t – it was a binge even if it wasn’t a horrible one. So there’s that. I managed to not pay any more into the pot by walking on the treadmill or outside for the requisite 30 minutes of exercise 6 days/week, but Saturday I counted the 2.5 hours of gardening I did as my exercise since after I cooled off from that it was time to get ready to go to Denver.

Saturday night we went to Rodizio Grill in Denver with K’s sisters and their significant others (one is married to hers, one WAS married to hers, divorced and now they might be getting back together), and his mom. We’ve gone sometime in the summer for 3 years now and we’re now officially calling it tradition. Having lived in Brazil for 16 months as a missionary 10 years ago, I still miss the food. Especially beans and rice, or feijao e arroz. My Portuguese is BEYOND rusty. K is always berating me for letting my second language languish and dwindle, but I haven’t really done anything about it. For the first time Saturday night, I had the guts to tell one of our waiters that I speak (spoke) Portuguese and that I lived in his home-state for 16 months a long time ago. We’ll call him VW. He was HILARIOUS and he proceeded to embarass and amuse me for the rest of the night. He kept asking me to translate what he was saying to the rest of the table, but then if I translated wrong (which I did twice) he had ELEPHANT ears and would swing around as he walked away to correct me and poke fun (in a very friendly, fun, Brazilian way). We all had many a good laugh at my expense and it was great fun. And now I’ve vowed that next year I’ll do better and have practiced – somehow. At one point he told me that I was too shy, I just needed to SPEAK! I was doing great! Well, HE was great, and it added some fun and memories to our evening.

I ate too much, of course. But I knew I would and planned for it. I hadn’t eaten much the rest of the day. I made progress from last year in that I wasn’t in pain when we left the restaurant; I managed to stop myself before I got that full. I got my pudim de leite to go, and it was a decadent heavenly treat that I ate as soon as we got home and the kids were tucked in. My parents watched them for us; we picked them up on our way back into town. They were both bathed and sound asleep. I am so grateful to my parents and all the help they give to us. The kids adore meemaaw and babaaaw (that’s what K2 calls them these days).

Sunday was low-key. We went to church; we were late but we went. 🙂 It took me literally 20 minutes of harrassing K to get him to wake up, and as a result we were about 10 minutes late. Which means I wasn’t there when I was sustained for my new calling (the Bishop called me Sat as we were returning from Rodizio to ask if I’d agree to serve on the Enrichment board, which is the committee that organizes the women’s organization activities), and we missed the beginning of the sacrament. But we were just glad to be there as a family. I enjoyed the lessons from Sunday School and Relief Society; I didn’t hear most of the testimonies in sacrament meeting due to the kids. K made appointments for next Sunday for both of us to have temple recommend interviews – I’m so excited that we’re worthy to go back to the temple.

Sunday afternoon I relaxed w/ P while K2 and K went down for naps almost immediately. I read through some magazines for ideas on protein powders, and then I ended up taking a nap myself. Poor P was by herself for a while – but she played and entertained herself. I did offer to let her take a nap with me. 🙂 I made pan-seared chicken, green beans, and pan french fries for dinner, to which I added a big lettuce salad on my plate. Then I ate a Snickers for a snack.

Today I’ve tried to get back in the productive groove. When I was slacking off on my diet (and everything else) from Thursday night on, I got depressed. I always get depressed when I let stuff get away from me. It didn’t help that I spent almost 4 hours on Friday afternoon paying bills, figuring out how to pay bills, calling people about bills and trying to pay pieces and parts so we don’t get sued or sent to collections. It turned out pretty well, but it is still exhausting. Every month I dread bill-paying day. Anyway, the depression wasn’t too bad and didn’t last too long. It also coincided with the end of my period. I seem to struggle the most with cravings, low energy for workouts, etc., directly AFTER my period, not before or during. So that is something I need to learn to prepare for better.

So, today. I did dishes, laundry, cleaned P’s room (she actually did most of it herself!), vacuumed upstairs, dusted downstairs, washed sinks and toilets upstairs, put laundry away (have one more load to put away tonight), made some tortillas (more on that in minute), had a good lunch, steamed some spinach for shakes for the next couple days, made some jello, did more dishes, made dinner, weeded outside in the backyard for an hour (only cleared a 3 foot square, ugh). And I still need to work out and put some laundry away. And have a snack. And put the kids to bed.

I like days like this. I feel good about what I’ve accomplished. The reason I made tortillas and jello is because I’ve decided to make a concentrated effort to use the stuff in our pantry that’s been there for ages. Two of those items are a bunch of jellos from when we were on assistance from our church for food, and also some tortilla mix that K bought thinking it would be cool to make our own tortillas. He’s never used it. I  used it once and they were kind of thick for me, but I took my time and made them as thin as I could today and they turned out great. I made a few so I’ll use them for the next couple days for quesadillas or burritos. They aren’t low-calorie or high fiber or anything, but in moderation I think they’ll be ok for my diet. And the mix needs to be used. There is also some oat bran that I want to make some muffins with since I didn’t like it as hot cereal, some pudding which I might add to my morning smoothies or make for the kids. Those are the main items that have been languishing in our pantry for months on end. Also some applesauce from my parents’ pantry that Mom bottled about 6 years ago. The kids really like it if I blend it first so it is smoother. We have one bottle of that left that I want to use up before I buy more applesauce from the store.

I’m going to try and spend about an hour in the backyard most days this week. Hoping that a little bit, consistently, will make a dent in our jungle so we can figure out how to landscape. I’m also hoping that we’ll have money to put down breeze soon to tamp down weeds coming back at least around the edges.

Well, this is getting long. I hadn’t written in a few days so I had a lot to say. I’m working on my menu and to-do list for tomorrow, hopefully it will be another productive day, even with having to go to the office. P had swimming lesson today, and she has 3 more days of that, so that takes a dent out of my morning. If I could get up at a reasonable hour I’d get a lot done BEFORE swimming lessons. As it is I don’t really get started with anything until we get back about 10:30. Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

