Sum up & oatmeal adventure

July 29, 2009 at 7:30 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

Today:

Swimming lessons went great. P was even more happy to be there today, did what the teacher’s told her to, including bobbing up and down to put her head in the water. She was quite enthusiastic about it, just like I asked her to be, and I was so happy with her. They also took them over to the diving board and dropped P off of it a couple times. I was pretty skeptical and nervous when I looked up from my magazine to see that they were walking over there, but P walked (shivering) to the end of the board with the teacher following her and one in the water to catch her. Then she picked up P under the arms and kind of dropped her off to the other teacher. I was so proud of her for not crying or throwing a fit – even I hate to drop off the board. She says she doesn’t want to do that again, but I bet she will. I told her she could work on jumping off by herself tomorrow.

Then I had the meeting @ P’s school for final paperwork, uniform info, school supply list, etc. I’m kind of overwhelmed by the school supply list and uniform list. The beginning of school is going to be expensive. Oh, well. I’m excited for her, nervous for her, and more all rolled into one. I found out today that she is in AM kindergarten with a Mrs. C. I hope she loves her teacher. I also hope she’s ready.

This afternoon was a lot of lounging around, reading magazines, and listening to the weather. Then a nap. Lots of thunder, rain, and lightning. I slept until 5 PM, and K stepped in and prepared a dinner, thank goodness. And not good at the same time, because he made noodle tuna casserole with lots of cheese. Again, not diet friendly. Part of the reason I slept this afternoon was because I felt like eating and needed to stay out of the kitchen. Anyway, I had one helping of the casserole with lettuce and corn.

Heather at Heather Eats Almond Butter eats a lot of different variations of oatmeal. Tonight I was craving something sweet, chocolatey, and preferably peanut buttery. So I thought I’d try something a little different. I made some oatmeal in the microwave with water, then poured it in the blender and blended it with about 1 T of natural PB and a little sugar (I like my oatmeal sweet). After I blended it, I poured it back in the bowl and sprinkled some chocolate chips on it, which quickly melted. It was pretty good, though I’m not sure it entirely satisfied my desire to eat, eat, eat. It felt healthy and decadent at the same time. I definitely think I should keep trying different variations of oatmeal instead of my same-ol’ same-ol’ oats & berries.

The kids and I are sitting around now just killing time until bed-time. My days of sleeping in until 9 are numbered since P will have to be at school 5 days a week by 7:50. Ugh. Its going to be a big change for all of us, one that requires a stricter bed-time for all of us as well. 2 weeks of summer left.

Leave a Reply

