Contest/competition – perhaps just against myself

July 20, 2009 at 9:38 am (Plan)

Money motivates me. We don’t have enough of it, and being held monetarily responsible for my health pushes me to make healthier choices. At least that’s the idea. I’m hoping that my brother decides to join me, because putting money into a pot that just goes back to me isn’t exactly a detterent. 🙂 My mother says she wants to participate also. I figure the person that pays the least into the pot gets the pot. That’s the only thing I can think of to make this thing work for more than just two people.

Last night I made my goals. Good thing, too, because I weighed in at 201.5 this morning, while I’ve been hovering between 198 and 199 all week. Below are my goals and I’ve started today. I’ve picked my biggest weaknesses to address with this contest – the rest of my eating habits are pretty good and if they’re not they’re minor compared to the night binging. I’m starting today, and hopefully I can get Mom and A on board quickly, though I fully intend to win. I want to use this competition as a way to continue to establish habits. Habits that will last me even after I get pregnant.

GOALS:

1) No binging at night. Binging is defined as having more than 1 or 2 snacks after dinner or eating after 9 PM (I rarely eat after 9 that it doesn’t turn out to an all-out assault on the kitchen). CONTEST COST: I pay $10 into the pot for every night I binge, added up weekly.

2) Exercise at least 30 minutes 6 times a week. I usually work out for closer to an hour, but I’m trying to learn that 30 minutes is still great and if I can’t do an hour or more, 30 minutes of something is still worth it. CONTEST COST: $10 into pot for every missed day.

3) Fresh produce at least once a day. CONTEST COST: $5 for every day missed.

I have a feeling that A and Mom are going to think my costs and goals are too steep. But I know myself and if I set them as some measly $5 per week or $1 per infraction, I will think its worth it to pay. When I mentally decided I’m going to binge (YES, I DECIDE, isn’t that AWFUL? But its true), I’ll be like oh, its only a dollar. And I’ll dive headfirst into a bucket of yogurt. So to speak. So I’ve decided to make this EXPENSIVE for myself if I don’t follow through. Because I don’t have that kind of money.

So there you have it. I started today. Last night I made dinner menus for the week and a list of breakfast and lunch ideas. Trying to mix it up a little instead of eating the same things over and over. I’m also going to make a sign for the fridge at my parents’ house (my printer is out of ink), and I’ll track infractions/costs/goals achieved in a spreadsheet. Today I’m going to make some lentil soup and some roasted chickpeas for salads. Yum!

Still deciding if I’m going to go for an outdoor run today or if I’ll just work out inside.

Happy week everyone!

Leave a Reply

