Trying to improve

July 10, 2009 at 10:14 am (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

I’m trying to improve just about everything, and trying not to overdo it and burn out at the same time. Yesterday’s fast was nice – it felt good to not worry about what I was eating or when. We even had a late dinner around 6, which tasted better than anything’s tasted in a while because I was actually hungry. I had one snack last night and an excellent workout. I did 35 minutes of cardio intervals and then I did a magazine workout for the first time in my life. It is a total body circuit from Oxygen mag, most of the exercises using more than one body part (squats with a shoulder press, etc). It kicked my butt and got my heart rate about as high as the cardio did.

Today I’m determined to fill my body with vitamin-rich foods. I’ve started out with a shake made with water and protein powder, frozen berries, 1/2 banana, and 2 big handfuls of spinach. It was a funky purple-brown color, but it was really good! And because the protein powder is lightly vanilla flavored and sweetened with stevia, I didn’t add any extra stevia and it was still plenty sweet.

I found a swim suit yesterday at Target. It is a tankini with black shorts (a little longer than boy shorts) and a white, black, and gray tank top. It is pretty cute and as flattering as I think I’d find anywhere. Then last night I was thinking about the rest of the day after the water park part of Elitch’s, getting on and off of rides, walking around, etc., and I realized I don’t have a pair of pants that are casual, lightweight, and FIT so that I’ll be comfortable. Jeans would be my preference, and I don’t have a pair of jeans right now that I don’t have to yank on every few seconds and rearrange every time I stand up. So I called my mom this morning and asked her to buy me a pair from Walmart or Target. She’s going to come get me and the kids (not sure when K is waking up) in a little while. I felt awkward asking; usually when she’s bought me clothes its because she’s volunteered beforehand. I’ve never just blatantly asked. I hope she’s not feeling used and abused – hopefully I won’t get that vibe from her and if I do I hope I’m brave enough to bring it up and try and clear the air. I probably do take advantage of her a lot; that’s another thing to improve on. There will come a day when I will call her and volunteer to buy HER stuff! There WILL!

Later today I want to get some housecleaning done and tonight I’ll do another workout. Haven’t decided yet if I’m going to run or do T-Tapp.

Well, I better go get the kids ready to go and put some shoes on myself. Good luck to all today on your pathways to a healthier life!

Leave a Reply

