A good Friday

July 10, 2009 at 9:53 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

I’m sitting next to my pretty new lampshade on the lamp that has sat naked-bulbed for about 6 months now. Its a pretty square lampshade with a flared bottom, a light sage color. Anyway, these small things make me happy. 🙂

I got the lampshade today after a very busy day of shopping, first with my mom and the kids, then with my MIL. The second round was going to be by myself but I ended up swinging by to pick up my MIL after I called her house to see if my SIL was there to give me details about tomorrow’s trip to Elitch’s. My SIL wasn’t there, but MIL needed to go somewhere. Anyway, I took her to run her errand and then she came with me to the bank and Target. I was looking for a specific dress in a specific color in a specific size – all of which I was unable to find at two other Targets that I hit with my mom and the kids earlier. I struck out again on the dress, but I got this nice lampshade! And my MIL had the idea to call the other Target near my house and see if they had the dress, and they thought they had two as of this morning. I was kind of bummed because I thought I wouldn’t be able to get there until Monday and the chances that they’d still have two then were low.

But now it turns out we’re not going to Elitch’s tomorrow. We’re going Monday instead. And I’m relieved. That leaves me a Saturday to do some more housecleaning (since I didn’t get any done today to speak of) and we’ll be going on a weekday. It will hopefully be less busy at the park, plus we’ll be able to get an earlier start than we would have tomorrow (one of my SIL is coming off a firefighter shift at 8 AM in the morning so we wouldn’t have gotten to the park up in Denver until about 11, if then). Also, this makes it so K will be here to watch the kids.

It also means I might get to go look for the dress tomorrow. 🙂

I just got a good workout in – 35 minutes of intervals, 2 minutes fast, 1 minute slow. Then I did some core exercises. But I’m getting more and more sore from my Oxygen circuit workout that I didn’t push it. Today has been good eats-wise. A little off-schedule with all the shopping, but I got in 3 meals and a few snacks. Maybe too many snacks tonight but I blame that on the fact that my dinner was too low calorie. Anyway, we’ll see if this is working in the morning. Back down to 198 this morning, so at least I’m back in onederland.

As the tempting foods in the house run out, I’m not going to replenish them. This list consists of tubs of plain, NF yogurt, any kind of granola bar, fruit snacks, fruit leather (still thinking on this because I don’t want to deprive my kids of fun, nutritious snacks just cuz I can’t keep my mitts off), and white bread. Fruit yogurt will be the norm – then I’m not tempted to dump hot chocolate powder on it and have two huge bowls’ worth. I need to go back to the beginning when I emptied the house of trigger foods  until I get back into a rhythm. And even then I’m not sure I’ll add them back in – they just throw me off. Also gotta keep up the workouts and being active with the kids in the evenings.

Speaking of kids, maybe if I write this goal down I’ll remember it in time to implement it. I’m going to start beginning our ritual move-upstairs-to-get-ready-for-bed routine at 7:45 instead of 8. That way, I have 15 minutes to read books to them before our final cartoon, quiet-down time. I really need to work in more reading to both of them – they enjoy it so much and its so good for them. I also want to start making more of an effort to work with P each day on her learning skills. Working with some fun flash cards, picking a new letter to draw, or just working on her puzzles together.

Well, I’m going to watch a show and then go upstairs to shower and read my lesson for Sunday. Now that I’m not worried about tomorrow morning and getting everyone ready for Elitch’s and Grandma’s, I don’t have much prep to do. Except maybe making a list of all I want to get done tomorrow. Night.

Leave a Reply

