Sunday Morning, July 5

July 5, 2009 at 10:48 am (General Life Updates)

No clever titles come to mind.

After a day of relaxing and lounging around, except for doing the dishes, K and I got ready and we went over to his sister’s for a BBQ. We had a nice evening playing Banana (a game with lettered chips kind of like scrabble), and eating. The spread was one I enjoyed more than I’ve enjoyed anything in a while – black bean dip w/ tortilla chips, pigeonpea mush (no idea the real name), steak done just right, fruit salad (our contribution, and boy was it good), pasta salad (which I easily passed up since they make it almost every time we get together and I just don’t love it), apple juice, mashed sweet potatoes, and then more fruit salad. 🙂 We had cheesecake that was seriously disappointing and I didn’t even finish my piece (a miracle!) because it just didn’t stack up to the Philadelphia cheesecake we had at my parents’ house a few weeks ago. There was also some blueberry cheesecake poundcake that I had some of, but not as much as I would have had if there were no blueberries in it. For some reason the texture of the blueberries just doesn’t appeal to me in most baked goods.

After dinner and waiting for it to get dark, we set off a bunch of fireworks on the back patio. Mostly little things that spun on the ground, going a bunch of different colors and then spraying out. The kids were scared of most of them, the little wimps. 🙂 So basically K lit them and we all watched, with much whimpering and running away by the children. I got a couple pictures of P holding a sparkler stick before it got dark, but later she wouldn’t even do that much, afraid K would light one of the bouncy color groundhog things.

Today I intended to go to church. Then at about 10 PM when K and I were talking about how I didn’t really want to go,  he realized that I couldn’t. He would have the car, and we don’t have a second vehicle yet because of the crash. This is the last day he has to work in the mornings since the account has been sold (YAY!!!), but it was kind of an ironclad excuse to stay home and recluse it up one more day. So no church, even though I shaved my legs yesterday in preparation. 🙂 And next week, for the first time in about 6 months, K will go with us! Hallelujah!

My older brother lives in Georgia. He’s been overweight for about 8 years now, and recently he had some health scares that motivated him into losing 20 pounds. But he has more weight to lose and his efforts have stalled out for the last 3-4 months. I had suggested a contest between the two of us, back when I was on a roll and pretty certain I could compete with a guy in weight loss, but he never responded. Yesterday I received an email from him saying that he hadn’t forgotten about it but just wasn’t sure how to proceed, telling me about his plateau. I told him about my plateau and made a few suggestions about what he could to do to ease into some exercise, not previously a part of his efforts. I don’t know if we need to have a prize that makes us both nervous (like money since money’s always tight), perhaps it would help us both to report to each other.

I’ve been trying to come up with a prize that I know I can pay up on if I lose, but I’m having a hard time. I want there to be some motivating factor besides getting to tell him I lost 10 pounds first. I don’t know how long it will take him to respond to my return email yesterday, but in the meantime I’m trying to think of ways we could coordinate our efforts to try and motivate and monitor each other from thousands of miles away.

Leave a Reply

