Is it not working because a different plan would be better

June 23, 2009 at 3:47 pm (Plan)

Or because I’m not sticking to my own plan right now? If I were to go back and read my history of dieting, etc., I would see that my diet plans stop giving me results about the same time I stop following them strictly. And I think that’s what’s happening now. I’m tempted to switch my plans, get some new-fangled, pretty, shiny plan. But I really think that what I was doing was great. It was working. The last couple of weeks have been rife with unique stresses and healthy eating days, but also with binges and days I just don’t try at all. No wonder I’ve plateaued, and in the last couple days since the crash, gained a little. Duh! And I haven’t worked out since the race early Saturday morning; the huge bruise on my leg has given me a great excuse to sit on my butt a lot.

This morning I got an email from Brad of Eat Stop Eat (his newsletter) where he interviews a guy that invented “Cheat Your Way Thin.” And once I’d looked at the special promotion being offered over there I almost spend $47 to get a shiny new bauble, in this case the bauble being a new “plan”. But I talked myself down, mainly by telling myself the promotion goes until Friday and if I still want it I have time. The more I think about my reasoning for wanting it, though, the more I realize it is just because I haven’t seen much results in the last few weeks. BUT THAT IS BECAUSE I HAVEN’T BEEN FOLLOWING MY PLAN. That was working. That works. I don’t need to spend money on a new plan.

I DO need to start spending money on food that will be good for me, but that won’t trigger me. Every once in a while I have to draw back, check in with the reality of my binging, and eliminate all trigger-foods from the house. I DO need to keep working out. I DO need to keep track of my snacks and not think that because I had a light breakfast I can eat 10 snacks instead of 2. I DO need to include produce in every one of my meals and snacks.

That’s what I need to do. So instead of looking for a new pretty toy program, I need to follow the one I have that ISN’T broken.

Leave a Reply

