Not tracking calories, but need to keep track

June 18, 2009 at 3:55 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats)

I haven’t been tracking my calories in sparkpeople for the last 2 or 3 weeks, but I’ve been eating much the same things as when I was tracking, so I kind of thought that was almost as good. But now I’m bouncing between 194 and 195 and having trouble getting below 194, so I’m wondering if I need to be a little more vigilant for a while. I haven’t decided to track calories yet, but I’m going to try and list what I eat each day as a start. I don’t want to become lax on portions and numbers of snacks just because I think I’m ‘eyeballing’ it correctly.

Today:

Oatmeal w/ berries, cottage cheese
Rotisserie chicken, half a sweet potato w/ some residual butter on it
Cup of steamed cauliflower
Milk Chocolate, extra creamy w/ toffee & almonds – 1 nugget
Whoppers – 3 small
Golden Delicious apple

Will edit later with the rest of the list for today. At the office, leaving momentarily.

EDITED TO ADD:
I am ashamed to admit that last night ended in a binge. But I will admit it, because its the truth. List starting with when I left work (if I can remember everything)

hard boiled egg
Dinner: chicken w/ cream of chicken soup sauce, black beans, big pile of lettuce/spinach, green beans
fat free chocolate pudding
ice cream sandwich (Sammie)
2 pieces of sheepherders bread w/ butter
about 6 butterscotch chips
bowl of fat free, plain yogurt w/ stevia & about 3 TB of hot chocolate powder
Another of the same
bowl of raspberries w/ sugar
3 pieces of ww toast w/ butter
ice cream sandwich

OH. MY. GOSH.

And then I stopped. Basically because my only options were repeating what I’d already eaten. I dipped into every available area of the kitchen looking for more stuff to eat, but I didn’t want to repeat so I ran out of food basically.

And then, because a good binge is never followed up by REASONABLE behavior, I stayed up until 1:00 AM. You know, just to make sure I not only felt sick, but was also exhausted. Its self punishment at its finest, though I don’t know what I’m punishing myself for.

So, it is a new day. I am not happy with myself for last night, but I’m moving on. I’m not going to let it turn into days and days of not trying. Starting a new post now.

Leave a Reply

