Trying so hard to be understanding – and pineapple honey salmon

June 11, 2009 at 6:08 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

Of my husband. I know he’s tired. So tired. But right now I’m fighting being annoyed with him. He’s in bed when he should be leaving in moments for work. I made dinner for him and the kids and he went to bed for the 30 minutes rest that would give him. 30 minutes isn’t very restful is it? I don’t know. Anyway, its okay because I had to make dinner for the kids and myself regardless. But it still irks.

And today was an office day; once again he doesn’t come through on his end of the bargain to help me with dinners on my office days. Why am I even holding onto that? He’s come through once. Once. I should expect to be on my own, but I still get my hopes up. Stupidity on my part, really.

Yesterday’s run was good. I went roughly 4.4 miles, though I walked more this time – I think due to going a little farther. It was toward the end that I gave in to the walking. It also rained on me a little at the end, which was kind of refreshing. I lifted weights after the kids went down for the night, so I got both parts of my workout in. I think I’m going to have to find money for those new running shoes soon, though. I’ve thought about doing different workouts on the nights I work out at home instead of running every day, but I think I might just leave that to Saturdays. I’m not going to be doing these outside runs for very long; just these two weeks. I might do one or two a week after the race, but its not going to be such an urgency for me to train outdoors.

Last night I made salmon, and just off the cuff I prepared it a new way. I was trying to think of something to season it with and I remembered a can of pineapple in the fridge that K had opened just to use the juice. I blended the pineapple with a little water in a blender, added a little honey, and marinated the salmon for about 5 minutes in half of the mixture. With the other half, I simmered it and then strained it to make a simple sauce. I took the fish out of the marinade and dipped the juicy fillets in plain breadcrumbs and then I cooked them in a skillet in a little coconut oil. I timed them and gave them about 4 minutes on each side and they were crispy and brown. I couldn’t get anyone else in the family to try the sauce on theirs, but I put just a bit of the pineapple honey sauce over my fillet and it was so good!!! I really enjoyed it but I’m not going to say if the family did. Sometimes I figure I could make them hot dogs and mac&cheese every night and they’d be just as happy as if I make them something healthy and different. Ungrateful wretches. πŸ™‚

Tonight I made chicken tacos from canned chicken. I had mine over lettuce & baby spinach w/ some black beans, little cheese, and some light ranch. The kids had theirs in soft tortillas w/ black beans on the side and finished off with some mandarin oranges from a can. Canned dinner. It was good though, and pretty healthy.

The office today was relatively low-key. Got some stuff done and got a ride home with a coworker so that K wouldn’t have to load kids up to come get me, since I thought K2 would still be sleeping. But he wasn’t. So perhaps he’ll be sleepy early tonight. One can always hope.

Going to run tonight on the treadmill and do some leg exercises. I think I’ll do ground work like leg raises and stuff. A little different than my typical squats. I need to get a mat for floor work though because our floor is very unforgiving. And I have less padding now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

