Idle Hands

May 19, 2009 at 4:14 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates)

I find that the days I intend to accomplish things but don’t are the days I also tend to talk myself out of a good workout and into eating too much.

Yesterday was just such a day. I intended to get some cleaning done, to work out, to read my scriptures. I ran some errands and made a dinner for everyone and did some dishes, but I didn’t accomplish all that I’d intended to do, or even a fraction of it. And that feeling of inadequacy and failure led to an evening of an abbreviated workout and a binge. And then staying up way too late just doing nothing. It was sad.

I’ve got to have a plan. For each day. A plan of what I want to get done. And if those tasks have to give way to other, equally industrious tasks, that is fine. As long as I feel I’ve accomplished something. It is when I’m dissatisfied with myself that I act to make myself even more dissatisfied. Vicious cycle.

Today, I made a list. Since I got to sleep so late last night and was interrupted a couple times by P coming in with leg cramps and then again when K came to bed and had to move her back to her bed, I got up kind of late this morning. Since I hadn’t showered or washed my hair (future-me, don’t judge) since Sunday morning, I knew I needed to shower this morning. So instead of getting dressed I put on my bathrobe while I fed the kids and myself some breakfast. Then I went upstairs and did a T-Tapp BWO+ (15 min workout) in my underwear and tennis shoes – what can I say I’m a weirdo.

Feeling invigorated, I hopped in the shower, then got dressed and went downstairs to start on my list. This list consisted of

  • Doing BWO+
  • Showering
  • Unloading the dishwasher, loading it again (I was behind on dishes), and starting it
    Starting the dryer
  • Depositing funds in the bank, maybe doing a quick grocery trip
  • Paying bills
  • Cleaning all three toilets in the house
  • Sweeping and mopping the kitchen floor
  • Cleaning the sinks in the kids’ bathroom and the downstairs half-bath
  • Unloading the dishwasher again
  • Separating the chicken & hamburger into tinfoil and freezer bags to put in freezer
  • Making dinner
  • Working out hard

As you can see from the crossing out, I’ve accomplished most of what I set out to do today, and the day isn’t over. I feel so much better on days like these! I realize that not all days can be like this, and everyone needs and deserves down-time. But sometimes I give myself way too much down-time.

Since I have to start working two afternoons a week starting next week (if they have the work for me), I need to start planning and executing my daily plans better. Having a plan and making it happen is what keeps me on track with my diet and working out. Especially the diet.

Well, I guess that’s it for today. Tomorrow is playgroup in the morning and then Thursday morning is walking group (which I missed this morning due to my late night and sleeping in). Also office on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

