Calories up a little to help eliminate binging

May 8, 2009 at 4:49 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, General Life Updates, Plan)

That title makes it sound like I’ve been binging a lot, and I haven’t. But I have struggled more in the last couple weeks than I have in the last two months of dieting. Sparkpeople gave me the calorie range of 1200-1500 calories in order to lose my weight, and since I’ve started tracking I’ve had days that are usually around 1250 or less, OR, I’ve had days that are in the high 2000’s, maybe low 3000’s. And those are on the few days I’ve lost control or allowed myself a treat. I’m not worried about the treats that I planned for and allowed, but the days when I lost control concern me. There were 2 or 3 last week, hence the high numbers around the beginning of the month, and there has been one this week. On Thurs of last week and Wed of this week I was so tired and bloated from eating that I easily talked myself out of working out. Coincidentally, those were also the days I went into the office.

Quitting my job (since I already did that and it didn’t take) aside, I need to plan better on my office days. I need to either prepare a crock pot dinner before I leave or I need to have leftovers planned for everyone so that when I get home I don’t give in to fast food, easy high fat/processed dinners, or endless snacking. I also need to plan good lunches  and snacks for while in the office so I can easily leave the snack jars alone.

I’m also consciously giving myself permission, in fact ordering myself, to take in between 1300-1400 calories on a typical day. In the hopes that slightly higher intake will help keep me satisfied and in control for those mentally-down days. It might make the weight loss slow down a little, but I hope it will salvage my metabolism and my sanity.

I’m also considering integrating some T-Tapp again. The running is still great and enjoyable, but I’m starting to get stress soreness in my shins and feet, and if I injure myself running I won’t be able to do much at all in the way of exercise. I haven’t fully decided to go with T-Tapp yet, but I’m considering it. I figure now as a lot of my shows wind down into season finales is a good time as any. Of course, I have new summer shows but they haven’t started yet. So if I’m not going to be entertained while running, I might as well try something else. Plus, my body is probably getting used to what I’ve put it through with the running, pushups, weights, squats, and it might be surprised into giving up some more inches if I did something completely different. Again, I’m still just considering it.

 A couple of exciting, fun things have happened in the last few days. We got new, free upgrades to our phones because we hit a year on our contract. So I have a new purple phone that is kind of fun. Also, K went today and finally got the car business situated (them trying to push a subaru impreza on him, him pushing back for 2 weeks) and now we have a shiny, ORANGE, Colorado truck. It is so cool and it is the new family car which means I get to drive it for the most part while K uses the Malibu for work and the good gas mileage. I’m pretty excited about it, though I’m sure soon it will be normal and not exciting at all.

I have these frozen veggies mixes in the freezer that steam up kind of nasty and mushy for regular steamed veggies, but I don’t want them to go to waste. So I think I’m going to experiment with making a pureed vegetable soup. Probably not tonight, I’ll probably try it tomorrow. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

