New low and sparkpeople

March 25, 2009 at 11:13 am (Uncategorized)

I reached a new low today of 214.5. This loss means I’m going to give the progesterone cream some more time. Its very relieving and exciting to see a drop after 4 days of steady maintain or slight ups.

Yesterday I also conducted an experiment by putting one of my typical days of eating into Sparkpeople just to see what my calorie range intake was on the LIFE diet. And to my shock and surprise, it was barely over 1000 calories!!!! That is WAY TOO LOW to maintain for very long and not go into starvation mode! Good grief! Now every day wouldn’t have been quite that low, but I think its safe to say that I’ve been eating between 1000 and 1200 calories a day for about 3 weeks now. Wow. And I’ve been mostly satisfied! Crazy!

Anyway, today I’ve started to take measures to try and get it up to about 1300-1500 while still just eating 3 meals and 1 or 2 snacks. I’m going to try and continue making mostly LIFE diet meals and only having a starch with dinner a couple times a week. Like 1/2 baked potato or 1/2 cup of brown rice or some sweet potato fries. Actually I went to make some sweet potato fries for dinner last night and was dismayed to see that I stupidly left the sweet potatoes in a plastic bag and they’d all gone bad in a black, moldy, mushy mess. Darn. But I’m going to continue to monitor in sparkpeople as well for a few days to make sure I’m getting enough calories to not kill my metabolism. Sheesh. At least one day a week, I think I should even boost my calorie intake to around 1800 or more, but I’m not sure about that. I’m still so paranoid about starting to gain again or stopping my progress – now that I’ve committed to this thing, I don’t want to mess up. But if I’m going to make this work for the rest of my life, I’m going to have to make sustainable changes. And 1000-1100 calories a day is not a sustainable change!

In other activities, I went out with my mom yesterday and we visited a couple of book stores. It was fun, and I got a long list of book series that I want to read. Mom purchased one book and let me borrow it, and she bought another just for me. šŸ™‚ I read it already last night – it was a quick read. The one that I borrowed is going to take me longer. I’ve decided to mostly stick with youth series, because they are often just as well-written and there isn’t going to be any junk; they’ll be ‘clean’. The only adult book I put on my list was Stephanie Meyer’s “The Host” and I’m not even sure I am interested in reading it.

Not much else went on yesterday except for the normal dinner, bedtime routines, and my workout. This afternoon P is going to her friend’s house to play and spend the night, so it should be interesting to see if that works out. She’s never spent the night without us except for at my mom’s house. I hope she has a blast, but its possible she’ll ask to come home at some point. We’ll see. I also might be going to the office tomorrow. We were reminded that we’re supposed to feed the missionaries this evening, but I don’t know how we’ll do that with K leaving at 5:30 and not much money. I have $20 left, which I might just give to them to buy themselves some pizza. And then I’m going to stop signing up to feed them because it never works out with K not being here in the evening.

It is almost mid-day and I’m not sure how the rest of today is going to go. I think K will be leaving soon to aerate his sister’s lawn and hand out some flyers. He doesn’t have to be back by 4 when I take the kids to P’s friend’s house because he’s not taking the car.

Over and out! Have a lovely hump-day!

Leave a Reply

