Worried, but how patient am I?

March 23, 2009 at 11:30 am (Uncategorized)

I started using a progesterone cream on Friday the 20th, following the cycle recommendations for women in their child-bearing years. I will apply it twice a day until the 29th, when I will stop until the 10th day after my cycle starts again (1st day of TOM). I’m using the cream for two reasons, 1) I’m assuming that it can’t hurt my chances of not having another miscarriage. I’m not planning on trying to get pregnant until September time-frame, but I’d like my hormones to be as balanced as possible by that time. I really don’t want to lose another baby. And 2), my libido is missing in action and has been since my first child was born. I need to research more on both of these things and the hormones involved, but I was advised by someone I trust and whom I know knows what their talking about that this cream would do wonders for me. So I’m trying it.

Well, what am I worried about? Its silly really, but I haven’t lost weight on the scales since the day I started the cream. It was the weekend, though, so that might be why there’s been no loss since Friday morning. I did have a piece of cheesecake in lieu of my snack on Saturday at the baby shower (small piece), but I didn’t have my LIFE healthy extra that night. Yesterday, I didn’t have my afternoon snack because I slept through snack time and then we left right away for Monument for dinner at my parents’. But I figured I made up for not having a snack by the chicken breasts that my mom had made with bread crumbs, sour cream, and some parmesan sprinkled on top baked in the oven. I didn’t have any of the mashed potatoes or rolls, just salad and green beans with my chicken, and I didn’t have a healthy extra that night, either. And we went for a family walk with the kids in strollers for about a half hour. It wasn’t a workout, but it was movement. Anyway, I thought it was a good weekend as far as a balance of indulgence and restraint. But I was up a half a pound Sunday morning and again this morning. So now I’m all paranoid that it is the cream.

Tonight is a running night. And there are no planned off-plan bread crumbs today. So I will continue as normal for a couple days and see if perhaps the reason I haven’t lost weight this weekend is the lessening of activity. Or hormonal shifts that will help in the long run. Or a lack of enough water. Or too much sleeping. 🙂 Anyway, I’m going to give the cream a few more days before I panic and cease using it.

Strangely enough, after I came downstairs, fed the kids breakfast, and had my own (a banana sliced into 6 oz of yogurt), I decided just to see what I was weighing in at (I know, I know, this is becoming obsessive). And I shucked my clothes and weighed – 215.5 instead of the 216.5 of an hour earlier. I really should use this arbitrariness as a sign to pay no attention to the number on the scale. But for now, I’m using the 216.5 number and I’m going to continue to weigh every day. I’d like to get to the point in a few months where I weigh in once a week. But not yet.

In other goings-ons, it is spring break for P this week. So no school. One of her little church friends has asked that she come play one day this week, and perhaps spend the night. P’s never spent the night anywhere but at her Grandma’s house, so I asked her if she wanted to and she seems excited by the idea. So we’ll see if she remains enthusiastic when its time for bed and she’s in some other place. There is supposed to be a primary activity this afternoon at a park, but it is pretty cold outside, so I don’t know if we’ll be going. It is supposed to snow tonight.

K told me his plan last night for the changes our family might be undergoing. It was surprisingly thorough, but worryingly up-to-chance in many points. But if it all went the way he hoped it would, it would all work out pretty awesomely. Except for in the end, we’d be living in Utah. Not sure how I feel about that. I’m okay with it for me, but for my kids growing up there…. I just don’t know.

Leave a Reply

