Duh… there will be food!

March 20, 2009 at 6:44 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, Weight Loss)

Since I started the LIFE diet almost 3 weeks ago, I haven’t had any social occasions. Okay, there’s been one sort of, and that was the meeting for P’s kindergarten where they had cookies in the foyer along with CapriSuns. I took a CapriSun home to P and ignored the cookies. But that was after 4 days of my diet, not like I was sick of it yet. I’ve been eating healthily nonstop for 19 days including today. I haven’t had things that I used to consider normal for a day. Just a few of those things being potatoes, noodles, or rice with dinner. Chocolate. Candy or goldfish with the kids. Now without eating those things I’ve lost 14.5 pounds in a little less than 3 weeks, and that’s great.

Anyway, the point of all this is that when I wrote that post earlier today, it hadn’t  yet occurred to me that there will be food at this baby shower tomorrow. Yummy food. Food that is definitely not part of my diet. So, what to do? Not eating anything? Choose one thing that I really want to taste and have ONE of them as my afternoon snack? The shower is from 2-4, so it covers my usual snack time. Or do I take a portable snack with me? Chances are, there will be something I’m supposed to have for a snack, like some fruit. But will I logically be able to continue resisting all the really decadent foods? Let’s say for instance that there are some yummy brownies or cookies. What if I have one instead of my snack food? Can I trust myself to have that and then get right back on board with only Step 2 approved foods? And to stop at one? These are things that didn’t start to worry me until this afternoon when the light went on in my brain, and I’ve been nervous ever since. Honestly, I’m leaning toward assessing the food options when I first arrive, picking one of what I REALLY want, and trying to eat it as slowly as physically possible to enjoy it as much as I can and make it last a while so I’m not as tempted to hop up and get another and another and another. Color me nervous. This is good, though, because it can be a short trial run of how the entire weekend is going to be in 2 weeks when we go to Utah – temptation everywhere, and I’m going to have to have a plan to overcome without coming back having gained all my weight back.

Leave a Reply

