Blink and you miss it

March 2, 2009 at 7:22 pm (Daily Workouts/Eats, Plan)

Anyone following my blog (and not just reading random posts that come up as a result of a search) will be amazed. How fast can she change plans? No wonder nothing ever shows results – she doesn’t stick with anything for longer than a week, if that! Well, you’re kind of right. Except for the last few months I haven’t been doing much of anything except eating a lot and exercising. The eating a lot has made me gain about 5 pounds in spite of the exercising, so I’d probably have gained a lot more if I was still sedentary.

So, on to new things!

Today, I started the Joy Bauer Life Diet. My mom and I bought her book on Saturday evening. I read it on Sunday. And I started this morning even though I didn’t have all the necessary foods. After I got some work done this morning, I spent about 2 hours condensing the 1st and 2nd weeks of information into a grocery list in 4 columns on one page in a Word doc. Then, I ate lunch and went shopping. I went to Sams and I went to Walmart, and I spent about $400, which was supposed to just be for the first 2 weeks of the diet. Now, a lot of what I purchased will last longer than 2 weeks, so that is a plus. But still, getting so much fresh produce and healthy stuff is expensive. Meshing the diet with the childrens’ diet and my husband’s is going to be the tough part.

It seems like a sensible approach. And my mom and I are dedicated to giving it a really good go. The first week is going to be the hardest, especially if the way I feel right now is any indication. I am hungry and I have a headache. It is probably a mixture between a pre-menopausal headache, which I get about once a month anyway, and a sugar-withdrawal headache. I haven’t had any sugar today, and believe me, it has been a long time since I’ve been able to say that.

229.5 this morning. Tracking weights daily in a spreadsheet. Following the menu prescribed for the first week. For example today looked about like this:

egg white omellette – with brocolli and orange bell pepper, and a shredded string cheese melted in the middle. Just so happened that the brocolli and pepper were both nasty from being in the freezer and fridge (respectively) too long. The egg and cheese part was okay. Then I ate some frozen berries, the only appropriate fruit option I had on-hand – but they were kind of hard to eat, since they were frozen.  

1/2 tuna sandwich & baby carrots – the tuna sandwich was supposed to be a nopen-faced sandwich with turkey breast, avocado, tomato. I don’t like tomatoes – couldn’t pay me to eat them. Didn’t have turkey breast or avocado. Made do because I knew I had to eat before I went grocery shopping.

Spent about 3 hours grocery shopping and headache had started by the time I got home. Had a string cheese and some water, which helped headache marginally.

Tilapia (baked), huge green leaf salad w/ mushrooms, carrots, light italian (2 tbsp). Also steamed brocolli. Was good, if kind of bland. And a lot of chewing. 🙂 Don’t have to chew that much when your meal is mostly simple carbs. Was full afterward, but it has only been a little more than an hour and I’m getting hungry again.

Only thing left on the menu for tonight is a “HALF” fruit portion. I will have either a kiwi or about 10 grapes. I’m saving that until about 7:30 right before I put the kids down and then run. And I’m looking forward to my run – which is kind of weird for me.

Tomorrow has different things on the menu, but you get the idea. It is a low calorie plan that is very strict for the first week and then adds some stuff back in for the 2nd and 3rd weeks. And then loosens up even more for the bulk of the plan (however long it takes for you to lose your weight). Lots of produce, which is good for me. I’m not accustomed to it, but it is good for me and my family needs to get used to eating that way. And the plan doesn’t require me to give up yogurt, which I’m not willing to do.

Also have implemented a reward system. Every 5 pounds, I get to reward myself. I’ll save big milestones for the more expensive items. But the first one at 225 pounds is earrings. I haven’t bought earrings in a couple years. Yay! Below is a list of rewards. I haven’t assigned each one to a pound lost increment. I might just pick from the list whenever I reach a 5 or a 0, depending on how broke we are at the time.

Jewelry – specifically costume rings, earrings, silver chain necklace
Workout clothes
New br3
Massage
Fancy shoes (Tezzas from Famous Footwear that I’ve been coveting)
Heavier free weights for home workouts
Shirt
Tickets to a play in Denver
Movie by myself
Pedicure
Manicure

After I acquire the earrings at 225 pounds, I’ll pick the prize that I am going to reward myself with for 220.

Leave a Reply

