Dogs, dirt, and diets

January 28, 2009 at 11:52 am (Uncategorized)

Fish is on his way out. He has to be.

Monday while I was at work, K got a bee in his bonnet and decided to rip up all the carpet on the main floor of our house. It was stained, stinky, and had huge holes in it where Fish has been systematically trying to rip it up for us every time we leave the house. So K just took it all out. In theory, this would prevent Fish from doing any damage to our actual house while we’re gone, right? No. Yesterday morning, we had court for our bankruptcy. FINALLY AFTER 2 CONTINUANCES. That’s another matter, though. When we got home after picking up the kids we’d been gone for a grand total of about 3 hours. And he had – get this – tried to chew the construction-wood floor! In the same spot where he started the carpet! It makes me wonder if there isn’t some sort of nastiness embedded in the floor right there. AND, he peed! In a big line over by the glass door. Which I’m sure soaked right into the construction-wood. Dangit.

So that afternoon I called the rescue and said that I was going to bring him to them this afternoon, and to please call me if that was a problem. Otherwise I would be showing up. They called me this morning. I was bluffing; I can’t take him today. But at least it got a response. The lady hasn’t been feeling well apparently, and has got more dogs than usual right now. So I sent her some pictures of him and she’s going to try and get him placed without ever taking him. And I’m going to put him on craigslist tomorrow. He needs to be gone. If none of that works, I will take him back to the humane society and just pray he passes the pit bull temperament tests because I can’t handle this.

And court. So after two continuances and waiting about an hour for our turn on the docket, it took about 3 minutes for it to be over and done with. We still have to send them our tax returns for 2007 for the trustee to decide if we’re getting enough back to make it worth his while to come after it – but we won’t , and I hope he won’t either. But the court part is done. Yippee-kayay. So anticlimactic, but such a relief.

Today, I’m hoping to go see my Mary Kay director to get some help and a few discontinued products for one of my clients. Other than that not much going on today. Doing some laundry and maybe cleaning a toilet or something. Tonight’s dinner is chicken and white sauce with pasta. Trying something new – never made my own white sauce before.

Last night I planned the dinner menus for the first 2 weeks of February, and a coordinating grocery list. I also made some lists for ideas for lunches and breakfasts for myself and the kids, and added that stuff to the grocery list. Hoping to go grocery shopping next Monday – we get paid Friday but I don’t like going grocery shopping on Saturdays if I can go on a weekday while most people are at work. Then hoping to go grocery shopping 2 weeks later for the rest of February. I think 2 shopping trips a month is ideal – I don’t like to go every week. Though I probably should for the fresh foods.

Last night I also printed up some numbers – 24 numbers – with 4 numbers to a page. I’m going to cut them and staple them and put them on the fridge to count down the 24 days until my birthday. The idea is to remind myself that my 33rd birthday is coming whether I work out and eat right or not. I’ve walked/jogged on the treadmill twice this week so far. Will be doing it again tonight. I need some new running shoes, but can’t afford them yet so I’ll make do with what I’ve got. I have to remember that getting some weight off will help a lot in that area – it isn’t just the shoes’ fault that I get uncomfortable when running.

I work again tomorrow, so this week will add a good chunk toward my hard-wood floor fund. A fund that has become even more important now that our house looks and feels like a construction zone with the bare particle wood floors with white paint patches and lots of staples and dust. Then I need to make sure that they know (specifically my boss) that coming in twice this week is the exception, not the rule.

2 Comments

  1. Thownsnor said,

    Hi, cool site, good writing 😉

Leave a Reply

